The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

md3 Drive full

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by hyder95, May 26, 2016.

Tags:
  1. hyder95

    hyder95 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lahore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I have dedicated server and recently my md3 drive got almost full.
    results with this command > df -h

    root@server [~]#
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    rootfs 893G 507G 342G 60% /
    /dev/root 893G 507G 342G 60% /
    devtmpfs 16G 252K 16G 1% /dev
    /dev/md3 952G 820G 84G 91% /home
    tmpfs 16G 0 16G 0% /dev/shm

    results with this command > du -sh /

    du: cannot access `/var/tmp/session_mm_cgi-fcgi961.sem': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/sys/kernel/slab/L2TP/IPv6': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/sys/kernel/slab/L2TP/IP': No such file or directory

    My question is how do i make space in /dev/md3 ??

    i am not good with commands on ssh, So please help me with step by step guide.

    Thanks.
     
  2. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When something similar happened to me, I ran:

    du-sk *| sort -n

    According to my notes, this command showed me what was using the most space. Which in my case was an orphaned backup file.
     
  3. hyder95

    hyder95 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lahore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for you answer,
    This command does not show much
    Results :
    8 public_ftp
    16 public_html
    24 cpanel3-skel
    24 Scripts
    32 perl5
    44 php.ini.new
    44 php.ini.orig
    48 mail
    11476 WHMCS
    94916 mail.scripts.log
    325120 tmp
    4228372 KASHIF

    any suggestions ??
     
  4. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It was a while ago, and i'm no expert (i tend to make notes and forget what they mean)

    But IIRC, then the files or folders utilising the most space are listed in order, so in your case Kashif is using the most space.
    I assume you might have to change to MD3 to run that command though.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. hyder95

    hyder95 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lahore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi CpanelMichael,
    As i mentioned before that KB did not help me much because when i run command du -sh it gives me error which i mentioned in my first post. Please help me accordingly.

    Thanks.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Those appear to be warning messages related to missing files that you can ignore. Does it prevent the command from completing successfully?

    Thank you.
     
  8. hyder95

    hyder95 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lahore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    Yes, this command does not show any results.

    Thank You.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For instance, does the command end immediately, or is it simply running and taking a while to output results?

    Thank you.
     
  10. hyder95

    hyder95 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lahore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    Please see attached screenshot and it stays here unless i press Ctrl+C.

    Thank You.
     

    Attached Files:

    • du.PNG
      du.PNG
      File size:
      6.8 KB
      Views:
      8
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The image suggests the command is still running. You have to let the command finish, and it might take several minutes to complete depending on how much disk space is utilized and the speed of the server. You can run it via "screen" so you can exit the session:

    screen Man Page | Bash | SS64.com

    Thank you.
     
  12. hyder95

    hyder95 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lahore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    But it gives error after a while as you can see in attached file.

    Thank You.
     

    Attached Files:

    • du1.PNG
      du1.PNG
      File size:
      20.9 KB
      Views:
      7
  13. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Those appear to be warning messages related to missing files that you can ignore.

    Also, I can see that your md3 disk is mounted on /home so you can enter /home directory and check space as below.

    Code:
    cd /home
    du -sch *
    
     
  14. hyder95

    hyder95 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lahore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    Results of this command is strange. Md3 drive size is 952 GB and currently being used 833 GB (information taken from WHM/show current disk usage).
    And this command have calculated all Cpanel users quota and gave me result as TOTAL 1000 GB.
    Now which is the correct one ?? and how do i make space as i also don't know that those all domains are registered with us may be some are shifted and they occupied the space. can we check this with command whether all accounts are active or not and which needs to be deleted from server along with their weekly and monthly backup ??

    Thank You.
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  16. hyder95

    hyder95 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lahore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    Thanks for your reply.
    cd /home
    du sch *
    This command list down all hosted accounts one by one with occupied space /home and showed me the total usage of 1000 GB at bottom, and if i check in WHM/show current disk usage , the md3 drive consumed 833 MB out of 952 MB. either this command is not showing proper occupied space or WHM is not showing. something is wrong.
    Now what to do ?? and one more thing i have terminated few accounts along with their weekly and monthly bacukps which were using 50 GB but still free space is 80 GB however it should be 130 GB after terminating accounts.

    Please help me with this.

    Thank you.
     
  17. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  18. hyder95

    hyder95 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lahore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here is the ticket number :
    7596733

    Thanks.
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    To update, it was determined the disk space usage originated from the "mail" directory of one of the accounts due to that account's email storage.

    Thank you.
     
  20. hyder95

    hyder95 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lahore
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    Finally, I got new server from SoYouStart to get rid of this issue. Now please help to create partition according to my issue. I am stuck during installation at point of allocating partition size. Please see attached screenshot and let me know how do i create partition. I want to create partitions like i attached "ideal.png" in this server cpanel creates accounts on "home" and backup stores in "/".
    So how i do create partition like i said new accounts should be created in home drive and backups will be in other drive.
    SoYouStart gave me 2 x 2 TB SATA3

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...

Share This Page