The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Me or my server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lamans, Mar 23, 2006.

  1. lamans

    lamans Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hiya all

    I have asked cpanel to do an apache update...

    How long should this usually take... What i mean is does 40 - 60 mins seem a bit long... I have a 2.4/1gb/80 sata running fedroa 4 and no users other than me...

    I have noticed that in my phpsysinfo that when my server is rebooted its using about 30% of the ram then over time it keeps using more and more and more... 18 hours since reboot and its at 76% used... If you happen to know anything about this as well i would be interested to know...

    Thanks yo
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Run ps aux from root shell and see what processes are running and pay attention to the percent of cpu and memory that they are running.

    You can use this to identify processes that may be using more resources than they otherwise should.
     
  3. lamans

    lamans Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hay man

    Thanks for the reply i ran that before but it doesnt really seem to tell me whats using all the mem... Ill explain the highest mem % is 2.1 by spamd followed by 1.0 for apache and 1.0 for somthing called "cpsrvd - waiting".

    Thanks
     
  4. maximus_marcus

    maximus_marcus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    Once the server is rebooted and when you feel there is a memory problem use the command

    free -m

    to get the available free memory and check the swap memory also. Make sure the swap memory on the server is twice the memory . IF less, you can have this increased without having the system re-installed In the WHM also there is a link " CPU/Apache Status" which gives you an idea of which process is taking the highest memory . Using the command top -c and then using the option shift+m gives the CPU processes with the highest memory consumption. Try killing this process using its ID or check the process in the proc and make sure nothing suspicious is running from a certain users home.

    Regards,
    Marcus
    The New Phase Of Support
     
  5. lamans

    lamans Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hiya yo

    Thanks for the reply

    Ok i checked the top -c and still only see spamd using 2.0... The server has been up for 20 hours and is using 81% nearly 800mb of the ram... What is an average mem load for a server that has no other user but me and is only hosting a few sites, no sql or heavy images... Is it possible it could be a cron job gone mad or somthing else...

    Thanks

    PS the swap is two times the size....
     
    #5 lamans, Mar 23, 2006
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2006
  6. maximus_marcus

    maximus_marcus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hai,

    Let me know the memory status of the server and then if the server is that down to load, try tweaking the mysql conf and the httpd conf on the server. Try killing the spamd process , it may be hanged on the server.

    I will require a real time picture of the server inorder to diaganose more on the server.

    Regards,
    Marcus
    The New Phase Of Support
     
  7. lamans

    lamans Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hiya...

    On the Ball :)

    Right do u want me to make you a pic and give u a link... If so what would you like top -c...

    hxxp://www.maidencityfm.com/top-c.jpg

    Thanks
     
    #7 lamans, Mar 23, 2006
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2006
  8. maximus_marcus

    maximus_marcus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    There are always some processes that take up memory usage and if there is some free memory available then the system will not try to free more and hence the swap doesn't come into use.

    Regards,
    Marcus
    The New Phase Of Support
     
  9. lamans

    lamans Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hiya...

    Good man for the reply

    So do u reckon that its usual for this to occur... My problem is why does the memory keep increasing if theres no one using there server...

    Thanks
     
  10. lamans

    lamans Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hiya

    My server is now using 92% of Physical Memory after 32 hours... I have a install of fedora 4 at home here and my machine here uses nothing like this to run and it been up for 2 weeks...

    I cant see where this and my server differ but maybe its something i dont know about... I cant see a single process that is using this memory

    Does anyone have any information about this or even where i should be looking to read up on the subject...

    Thanks
     
  11. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    post the results of

    cat /proc/meminfo

    This will let us see what memory is actually in use and what is cached

    More than likely what your seeing is normal for linux as *nix will use almost all the available ram and free memory only when it needs to
     
  12. lamans

    lamans Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply man... here is the list of meminfo


    MemTotal: 1027084 kB
    MemFree: 70120 kB
    Buffers: 108680 kB
    Cached: 566080 kB
    SwapCached: 0 kB
    Active: 583988 kB
    Inactive: 216892 kB
    HighTotal: 122560 kB
    HighFree: 120 kB
    LowTotal: 904524 kB
    LowFree: 70000 kB
    SwapTotal: 2040244 kB
    SwapFree: 2040244 kB
    Dirty: 88 kB
    Writeback: 0 kB
    Mapped: 154176 kB
    Slab: 145240 kB
    CommitLimit: 2553784 kB
    Committed_AS: 283108 kB
    PageTables: 1968 kB
    VmallocTotal: 114680 kB
    VmallocUsed: 4268 kB
    VmallocChunk: 106872 kB
    HugePages_Total: 0
    HugePages_Free: 0
    Hugepagesize: 4096 kB
     
  13. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You server is doing fine :)

    According to the meminfo you have 636 meg of ram available for programs to use.

    Its hard to explain how linux manages memory but it does not manage it the same way windows does.

    Linux will store all the recently accessed programs and data in memory and as more memory is needed linux will start removing the oldest stored inactive data/programs to make room for the new data and as long as cached and available memory is ample and swap use is zero or close to zero then you do not have any problems

    your actual free memory is a combination of the available and cached memory
     
  14. lamans

    lamans Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sweet

    Thats all i needed to know... Thank you man you have made me feel much better...

    Must fry the head of someone that knows linux when a windows person comes to linux and is all like what the F**K... As the two seem similar but are very very different...

    Thanks
     
  15. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    your welcome

    and your right linux and windows are very different Linux works and winblows is a crap shoot :D
     
  16. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well lamans, it should not be the memory that you should worry about, you can have available memory as low 100MB but you will find the server running fine. It should be the server load that should be noticed now and then. A good server will always have its load under 1.
     
Loading...

Share This Page