The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mem running away?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ZachICU, Nov 30, 2002.

  1. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is it common for the memory usuage on a cpanel system to be in the 90%+

    Thats what it was at on my one box, so I gave it a reboot and it has been slowly climbing back.

    http://www.icudns.net

    Curious to hear from some people on this.

    Thanks
    Zacb
     
  2. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    it's normal, we have a dual PIII 1.26 with 2gb ram and 10 clients on it... load is 0.00 0.00 0.00 and it consuming 1.8gb of ram. The system will use as much as it can.
     
  3. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    And why do you think that is? Too much perl, not enough C and not enough php. Any CP written Perl will be a major system resource hog!
     
  4. mccuem

    mccuem Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    it's the box, not cpanel

    Linux naturally takes up a huge amount of memory for file cache, it has nothing to do with cpanel.
     
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    [quote:431a46ae94][i:431a46ae94]Originally posted by mccuem[/i:431a46ae94]

    Linux naturally takes up a huge amount of memory for file cache, it has nothing to do with cpanel.
    [/quote:431a46ae94]

    That goes for an *nix system, it will always use the memory to the full extent before going to swap, as real memory is faster an d more efficient. You'll need to worry when swap is eaten up to 90%.
     
  6. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So I guess my question is this:

    www.icudns.net


    This looks normal right?

    Thanks
    Zach

    (Just boggles my mind I guess since Im not use to seeing it, wanna verify and double verify)
     
  7. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would have to say - No.

    Having viewed a few other phpSysInfo output and even with my own [ temp location ] I have never seen the Physical Memory as redlined. The biggest difference I can see (between your setup and mine) is that your are using Kernel 2.4.19 while I use 2.4.18. The other systems I've seen also used 2.4.18.

    Is it a problem maybe with 2.4.19? Have you always used that version with the same &redlined& results? Another possibility is that, whatever process you have constantly running (or seems to be constantly running) cannot be handled fast enough by the CPU & RAM currently used?
     
  8. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    We show the same numbers 98% using 2.4.18.3

    It also depends what's running. If you have tomcat especially it takes as much memory as it can.
     
  9. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Its actually a brand new server, it has about 21 accounts on it.

    I gave it a reboot the other day, and the memory climbed up slowly, then reached the 90% area within 3-5 hours I would say.

    Thanks
    Zach
     
  10. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My load average for the past few days has been around zero.

    Now I notice its bouncing between .20-.50 There is hardly anything on this server, I dont really understand.

    Server uptime: 4 days 18 hours 6 minutes 58 seconds
    Total accesses: 209029 - Total Traffic: 1.4 GB
    CPU Usage: u.72 s1.26 cu0 cs0 - .000482% CPU load
    .509 requests/sec - 3709 B/second - 7.1 kB/request
    3 requests currently being processed, 7 idle servers

    10:07am up 4 days, 19:16, 1 user, load average: 0.23, 0.25, 0.11
    64 processes: 62 sleeping, 2 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
    CPU states: 0.7% user, 0.5% system, 0.0% nice, 98.6% idle
    Mem: 515552K av, 446128K used, 69424K free, 0K shrd, 92532K buff
    Swap: 530104K av, 29908K used, 500196K free 179192K cached
     
  11. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    When you run top who does it show using the memory the most?
     
  12. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    31725 root 10 0 2060 2036 1524 R 0.1 0.3 0:01 sshd
    3184 root 11 0 1028 1028 824 R 0.1 0.1 0:00 top
    1 root 0 0 472 432 412 S 0.0 0.0 0:11 init
    2 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 keventd
    3 root 19 19 0 0 0 SWN 0.0 0.0 0:00 ksoftirqd_CPU0
    4 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:19 kswapd
    5 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 bdflush
    6 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:07 kupdated
    119 root -1 -20 0 0 0 SW& 0.0 0.0 0:00 mdrecoveryd
    131 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kjournald
     
  13. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Is that sorted by memory? &shift+M&
     
  14. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    3350 root 9 0 11172 10M 1612 S 0.0 2.1 0:00 spamd
    3785 named 9 0 4500 4500 1900 S 0.0 0.8 0:00 named
    3786 named 9 0 4500 4500 1900 S 0.0 0.8 0:00 named
    3787 named 9 0 4500 4500 1900 S 0.0 0.8 0:00 named
    3789 named 9 0 4500 4500 1900 S 0.0 0.8 0:00 named
    3790 named 9 0 4500 4500 1900 S 0.0 0.8 0:00 named
    4287 nobody 10 0 4308 4156 3984 S 0.1 0.8 0:00 httpd
    4288 nobody 9 0 4308 4156 3984 S 0.0 0.8 0:00 httpd
    4292 nobody 9 0 4308 4156 3984 S 0.0 0.8 0:00 httpd
    4314 nobody 11 0 4308 4156 3976 S 0.3 0.8 0:00 httpd
    4289 nobody 9 0 4300 4148 3980 S 0.0 0.8 0:00 httpd
    4290 nobody 9 0 4300 4148 3976 S 0.0 0.8 0:00 httpd
    4291 nobody 9 0 4300 4148 3976 S 0.0 0.8 0:00 httpd
    4293 nobody 9 0 4300 4148 3976 S 0.0 0.8 0:00 httpd
    4315 nobody 10 0 4248 4096 3984 S 0.0 0.7 0:00 httpd
    9954 root 10 0 4196 4044 3940 S 0.0 0.7 0:40 httpd
    8774 cpanel 9 0 24160 3328 1496 S 0.0 0.6 0:30 interchange
    4248 nobody 9 0 2992 2980 2380 S 0.0 0.5 0:00 proftpd
    3231 mysql 9 0 2576 2576 1256 S 0.0 0.4 0:00 mysqld
    3287 mysql 8 0 2576 2576 1256 S 0.0 0.4 0:02 mysqld
    3288 mysql 9 0 2576 2576 1256 S 0.0 0.4 0:00 mysqld
     
  15. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Whoops... Looks like I stand to be corrected - for n'th time. ;)

    Looking at the facts, some things didn't seem to jive and doing some checking, noticed that I (and all those other metioned phpSysInfo pages I had looked at) was using version 1.0. Noticing Zach had the 2.1 version, I did an upgrade [ temp location ] and now my Physical Memory is redlining as well -- showing 97% of Mem in use.

    This jives with &top& as it showed:

    Mem: 510068K av, 485184K used, 24884K free, 0K shrd, 131788K buff

    which is 96.9% of Mem in use &at that time& -- which is what tweaked me to believe something wasn't quite right with my version of phpSysInfo.

    As &Mem used& has a tendency to flucuate, one must compare the two sources pretty close to the same time, to get an accurate reading.

    So I would change my statement to, &Everything seems to be normal, Zach.&


    This raises a question for me though, as to the degree of difference between the results of Mem used, in phpSysInfo v1.0 & v2.1, and why such a difference? Anyone know the answer to that.
     
  16. dolphyn

    dolphyn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [quote:ae69eec1a1]In 2.1 I've included buffer cache in the 'used' memory. I was getting about 10 emails a week from people saying htat phpsysinfo didn't match 'top' or 'free'. For 2.2 I plan to accually have a buffers and cache columns to help make more sense.[/quote:ae69eec1a1]

    Source: http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?thread_id=696907&forum_id=9
     
Loading...

Share This Page