The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Memcache / memcached problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by leisegang, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. leisegang

    leisegang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kristiansand, Norway, Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have been following this guide:
    /http://mrphp.com.au/code/install-memcache-cpanel-running-centos
    Install Memcache onto cPanel running CentOS | Mr PHP


    in my /etc/ld.so.conf.d/libevent-i386.conf i have:
    Code:
    /usr/local/lib/

    In /usr/local/lib/php.ini i have enabled the extension:
    Code:
    extension=memcache.so
    and the extension is in the folder i actually have 2. memcached.so and memcache.so only 1 is activated.

    in the /etc/memcached.conf i have:
    Code:
    #Memory a usar
    -m 1024
    # default port
    -p 11211
    # user to run daemon nobody/apache/www-data
    -u nobody
    # only listen locally
    -l mypublicIP
    

    i am using this script:
    /http://www.vbseo.com/blogs/danny-bembibre/daemon-scripts-memcached-44/
    Daemon scripts for memcached - Blogs - vBulletin SEO Forums

    Code:
    /etc/init.d/memcached restart
    Shutting down memcached:                                   [  OK  ]
    Starting memcached:                                        [  OK  ]
    

    running: ps aux | grep memcached gives me this
    Code:
    nobody   28543  0.0  0.0 326892  1384 pts/0    Sl   12:25   0:00 /usr/local/bin/memcached -u root -m 1024 -p 11211 -u nobody -l mypublicip
    root     28609  0.0  0.0   6372   696 pts/0    S+   12:25   0:00 grep memcached

    also here is a copy of the memcache from phpinfo: /http://udyr.com/jing/2012-08-13_1227.png

    can somebody help me getting this thing to work?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What error are you receiving where precisely? Also, memcache and memcached aren't the same component. There are two different PHP modules with almost the same name.
     
  3. leisegang

    leisegang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kristiansand, Norway, Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    when trying to connect i get error. could not find any memcached instance. and messages like that.

    Can you check my server via SSH?
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We cannot check the server via SSH via the forums. Please post the full error message or a screen print of it.
     
  5. leisegang

    leisegang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kristiansand, Norway, Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i do not get any error messages. i cant find anything in the logs. the only place i get an error is this:

    /http://udyr.com/jing/2012-08-14_2258.png
     
  6. leisegang

    leisegang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kristiansand, Norway, Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    when connecting with telnet:

    telnet mypublicip 11211

    and run STATS i get this:

    Code:
    stats
    STAT pid 28543
    STAT uptime 126046
    STAT time 1344979550
    STAT version 1.4.13
    STAT libevent 2.0.17-stable
    STAT pointer_size 64
    STAT rusage_user 2.383637
    STAT rusage_system 1.729737
    STAT curr_connections 5
    STAT total_connections 224
    STAT connection_structures 7
    STAT reserved_fds 20
    STAT cmd_get 1812
    STAT cmd_set 85
    STAT cmd_flush 0
    STAT cmd_touch 0
    STAT get_hits 1790
    STAT get_misses 22
    STAT delete_misses 0
    STAT delete_hits 0
    STAT incr_misses 0
    STAT incr_hits 0
    STAT decr_misses 0
    STAT decr_hits 0
    STAT cas_misses 0
    STAT cas_hits 0
    STAT cas_badval 0
    STAT touch_hits 0
    STAT touch_misses 0
    STAT auth_cmds 0
    STAT auth_errors 0
    STAT bytes_read 212219
    STAT bytes_written 2305197
    STAT limit_maxbytes 1073741824
    STAT accepting_conns 1
    STAT listen_disabled_num 0
    STAT threads 4
    STAT conn_yields 0
    STAT hash_power_level 16
    STAT hash_bytes 524288
    STAT hash_is_expanding 0
    STAT expired_unfetched 0
    STAT evicted_unfetched 0
    STAT bytes 28551
    STAT curr_items 21
    STAT total_items 63
    STAT evictions 0
    STAT reclaimed 0
    END
    

    anything i can do to debug?
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How is that an indication it is not working?
     
  8. leisegang

    leisegang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kristiansand, Norway, Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When i run TOP i can se that user NOBODY is running MEMCACHED

    it uses 1024mb ram max and it seems to be running. but i cant access it from any of my sites. so something is deffinately wrong.
    here is my phpinfo: /http://bloggbyen.com/phpinfo.php
     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How are you trying to access it from your sites? It does show up in phpinfo. It works in command line. Right now, I've been asking for the actual error message to see it not working and we haven't gotten that info yet. Thanks for once you've provided it!
     
  10. leisegang

    leisegang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kristiansand, Norway, Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i am trying to use the memcache manager to connect to it. using the same IP and port to connect to the memcached on my server. i am also trying to use a wordpress plugin called /http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/johnny-cache/
    WordPress › Johnny Cache

    i actually dont get any error messages. but it doesnt work for me as far as i can see. i cant connect trough any websites.
     
  11. leisegang

    leisegang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kristiansand, Norway, Norway
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i went through the installation guide 1 more time. first i removed everything. And now it seems to work sort of. i only have 32mb of memcache but that i can figure out.

    thanks for the help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page