The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Memcached

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by d4rkdrago0n, Apr 25, 2007.

  1. d4rkdrago0n

    d4rkdrago0n Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Right, I have the daemon running and the PHP extention built

    but I need to build PHP with '--enable-memcache'

    Is there any way I can do this either using easyapache or some simple SSH commands. or do I need to construct a whole new LAMP?

    ps. sorry if this is an incorrect forum
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Run /scripts/easyapache from the commandline with the PHP_CUSTOM_PHP_FLAGS environment variable set.

    Code:
    PHP_CUSTOM_PHP_FLAGS="--enable-memcache" /scripts/easyapache
    
     
  3. d4rkdrago0n

    d4rkdrago0n Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah, this is great. thanks a lot.

    Is there also a way to build it with apache2 and mod_deflate as opposed to apache 1.3.37 mod_gzip?

    these are more preferences than requirements :)

    (or am I completely wrong and they're platform dependant)
     
    #3 d4rkdrago0n, Apr 26, 2007
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2007
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Once cPanel 11 is released you'll be able to build all that easily with Apache 1, 2, or 2.2

    If you aren't using an EDGE build then you have to build Apache 2, or 2.2, yourself as easyapache provides no support for other than Apache 1.3
     
  5. d4rkdrago0n

    d4rkdrago0n Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah thanks a lot.

    How stable is the EDGE build? I ask because this would be in place on a high traffic website and I can't afford to cause any un-needed downtime during peak times :P
     
  6. d4rkdrago0n

    d4rkdrago0n Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hm, it doesen't appear to be taking any notice of the variable?
     
  7. useradmin

    useradmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    INDIA
    memcache

    HI,


    i did use option memcache
    PHP_CUSTOM_PHP_FLAGS="--enable-memcache" /scripts/easyapache

    but i dont see memcache is enabled in php info or php -m
    so what may be the reaosn....
     
  8. steelwave

    steelwave Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    im having the same problem .. i selected to install memcache but it is not showing in phpinfo

    any tips on getting memcache installed on cpanel ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page