The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Memory Allocation

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by JustSomeGuy, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. JustSomeGuy

    JustSomeGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was wondering if anyone can give me some advise

    I have two servers with SoftLayer and they have installed Centos and CPanel for me.
    Any advise on memory allocation, especially vmalloc as server #1 I received an error at time of bootup: allocation failed: out of vmalloc space - use vmalloc=<size> to increase size

    Code:
    Server #1
    cat /proc/meminfo
    MemTotal:  12462580 kB
    MemFree:  4897752 kB
    Buffers:  473012 kB
    Cached:  6183852 kB
    SwapCached:  0 kB
    Active:  2808952 kB
    Inactive:  4363496 kB
    HighTotal:  11655652 kB
    HighFree:  4889008 kB
    LowTotal:  806928 kB
    LowFree:  8744 kB
    SwapTotal:  6289408 kB
    SwapFree:  6289408 kB
    Dirty:  3836 kB
    Writeback:  0 kB
    AnonPages:  514992 kB
    Mapped:  31428 kB
    Slab:  316084 kB
    PageTables:  6956 kB
    NFS_Unstable:  0 kB
    Bounce:  0 kB
    CommitLimit:  12520696 kB
    Committed_AS:  1343736 kB
    VmallocTotal:  116728 kB
    VmallocUsed:  57268 kB
    VmallocChunk:  21224 kB
    HugePages_Total:  0
    HugePages_Free:  0
    HugePages_Rsvd:  0
    Hugepagesize:  2048 kB
    
    server #2
    cat /proc/meminfo
    MemTotal:  12186880 kB
    MemFree:  5831288 kB
    Buffers:  578536 kB
    Cached:  3803216 kB
    SwapCached:  0 kB
    Active:  2895684 kB
    Inactive:  2991036 kB
    Active(anon):  775544 kB
    Inactive(anon):  729896 kB
    Active(file):  2120140 kB
    Inactive(file):  2261140 kB
    Unevictable:  0 kB
    Mlocked:  0 kB
    SwapTotal:  2097144 kB
    SwapFree:  2097144 kB
    Dirty:  776 kB
    Writeback:  0 kB
    AnonPages:  1505208 kB
    Mapped:  40516 kB
    Shmem:  304 kB
    Slab:  220496 kB
    SReclaimable:  174200 kB
    SUnreclaim:  46296 kB
    KernelStack:  3536 kB
    PageTables:  22004 kB
    NFS_Unstable:  0 kB
    Bounce:  0 kB
    WritebackTmp:  0 kB
    CommitLimit:  8190584 kB
    Committed_AS:  1939464 kB
    VmallocTotal:  34359738367 kB
    VmallocUsed:  393032 kB
    VmallocChunk:  34352323740 kB
    HardwareCorrupted:  0 kB
    AnonHugePages:  1091584 kB
    HugePages_Total:  0
    HugePages_Free:  0
    HugePages_Rsvd:  0
    HugePages_Surp:  0
    Hugepagesize:  2048 kB
    DirectMap4k:  5632 kB
    DirectMap2M:  2082816 kB
    DirectMap1G:  10485760 kB
    
    
     
    #1 JustSomeGuy, Jun 2, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 2, 2015
  2. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. JustSomeGuy

    JustSomeGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It is not a virtual machine, it is 2 seperate dedicated servers running Centos.
     
  4. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you attempted to install any sort of virtualization on them at all? Also, can your host confirm that they are not "virtual dedicated's"?
     
  5. JustSomeGuy

    JustSomeGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    They are full dedicated servers which I lease from SoftLayer. They have confirmed they are NOT Virtual Dedicated servers
     
  6. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Fair enough. Have you followed the instructions yourself in the link I had provided?
     
  7. JustSomeGuy

    JustSomeGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes I did BUT:
    1: LILO: I was not able to locate a file called: /etc/lilo.conf (did a full search for that file)
    2: GRUB2: no file /etc/default/grub
    3: GRUB: Found the file /boot/grub/menu.lst (see below) but there is no reference to vmalloc in it

    Code:
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    #          root (hd0,0)
    #          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda5
    #          initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/sda
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title CentOS (2.6.18-404.el5PAE)
            root (hd0,0)
            kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-404.el5PAE ro root=LABEL=/
            initrd /initrd-2.6.18-404.el5PAE.img
    title CentOS (2.6.18-398.el5PAE)
            root (hd0,0)
            kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-398.el5PAE ro root=LABEL=/
            initrd /initrd-2.6.18-398.el5PAE.img
    
    
     
  8. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The comments at https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=149092 seem to reference this.

    I found this quote there...

    This is incase of a kernel panic if you add the line in the instructions to grub.conf.
     
  9. JustSomeGuy

    JustSomeGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    But isn't that for Fedora and not Centos?
     
  10. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It is. However, I personally tend to watch both of them as they are "relatively" similar in regards to grub.
     
    #10 LostNerd, Jun 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015
  11. JustSomeGuy

    JustSomeGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Frustrating as that quoted issue seemed to be with grub 0.95 and fixed in 0.96 AND I am running 0.97
     
  12. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    My apologies. I was unaware as to which version you were on.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page