The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

memory limit issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hgrg, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. hgrg

    hgrg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I've got a few WordPress install-s with heavy traffic on my server.
    WordPress is a real memory consumer, no problem a the server has 8G
    php memory limit is set to 512M
    I also set maxmem in tweak settings to 512M

    when im about to turn on a plugin i get this:

    Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 268435456 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 71 bytes) in /wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1530

    So its passing out after 256M while i want to let it use 512M
    please help me :)
    thanks for reading
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    If that doesn't help, check your WP files and see if the memory is limited somewhere using "ini_set" function. I have seen some instances where the actual issue was the memory limit in WP files.

    you can run something like this from public_html to check this- grep -rl 'ini_set("memory_limit"' ./

    Thank you.
     
  4. hgrg

    hgrg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for both of you:
    @Tristan:
    Ive already went through most of them...

    cat /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf | grep Limit
    ServerLimit 256

    As far as ivíe remember ive removed those limitations, because there are only 2 trusted resellers and me on the server.. And most of the sites hosted here are WordPress installs which is an extremly memory-consuming app. (memory leaks ohhh)
    So nice try, but it didnt work for me now :)

    as for nibin's kind words:
    sorry it didnt work out for me either :(
    Therre were several plugins trying to modify the limit, but they are not active..
    my problem is that the server is shutting down the process after it tries to allocate 71bytes more then 256M.. while the memory limit is 512M..
    it MUST be another cpanel safety measure!
    thanks for your help!
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is there a reason the command I indicated wasn't the one tried?

    Code:
    grep -i rlimit /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
    Or even trying to recursively check:

    Code:
    cd /usr/local/apache/conf
    grep -Ri rlimit ./*
    We don't care about anything bur RLimitMEM. If you did remove the limits but didn't redistill, rebuild and restart Apache afterward, they will return to Apache httpd.conf later on.
     
  6. hgrg

    hgrg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    as i told you:
    [root@ /usr/local/apache/conf]# grep -Ri rlimit ./*
    ./httpd.conf:ServerLimit 256
    ./httpd.conf.bak:ServerLimit 256
    ./httpd.conf,v:ServerLimit 256

    Thats all
    of course i distilled the changes :)
    dont you have any ide why is the system shutting down the process after consuming 256M memory?
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, I don't without access to the system. I would suggest opening up a ticket in WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature. Please feel free to post the ticket number here upon submitting one. Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page