The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Memory too High, help me please

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rodolfochka, Sep 21, 2004.

  1. rodolfochka

    rodolfochka Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Hi there!

    I've seen in WHM that my server is using too much memory:

    Memory Used 82.8 % and light is in yellow

    I watched in the CPU/Memory/MySQL Usage
    and in the table under %MEM the highest is MySQL with 3 and all the other under 2
    and this also:
    Top Process %CPU 34.0 /usr/bin/spamd -d
    Top Process %CPU 14.0 /usr/bin/spamd -d


    and under SSH in top command:

    7:43pm up 99 days, 16:40, 1 user, load average: 0.02, 0.06, 0.07
    63 processes: 62 sleeping, 1 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
    CPU states: 0.0% user, 0.2% system, 0.0% nice, 99.7% idle
    Mem: 1023580K av, 997368K used, 26212K free, 0K shrd, 46484K buff
    Swap: 2040244K av, 509172K used, 1531072K free 99576K cached

    and all process in memory are under 1!!

    Do anybody outhere can help me with this???

    I have WHM 9.7.2 cPanel 9.7.7-R15
    RedHat 7.3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    Thank you in advance!!!

    Rodolfochka
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You've certainly seem to have a problem there.

    When you are in top hit M to sort by memory usage so that you can see which processes are using it all up.
     
  3. rodolfochka

    rodolfochka Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mexico City
    only says this:

    in %MEM all process are under 1 !!
    in %CPU all process are under 1!!

    Yesterday I rebooted the server, but doesn't work, mi memory under Service Status is the same: 80% yellow light.

    somebody knows???


    thank you

    Rodolfochka
     
  4. rodolfochka

    rodolfochka Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mexico City
    this are the top process:

    2310 root 9 0 14180 13M 6584 S 0.0 1.3 0:00 whostmgr2
    2025 nobody 9 0 8396 8172 3660 S 0.0 0.7 0:00 httpd
    2068 nobody 9 0 8360 8136 3332 S 0.0 0.7 0:01 httpd
    1836 nobody 9 0 7984 7764 3352 S 0.0 0.7 0:00 httpd
    1837 nobody 9 0 5296 5104 3172 S 0.0 0.4 0:00 httpd
    22983 mysql 9 0 11436 4976 1860 S 0.0 0.4 0:00 mysqld
    23021 mysql 8 0 11436 4976 1860 S 0.0 0.4 0:00 mysqld
    23022 mysql 9 0 11436 4976 1860 S 0.0 0.4 0:00 mysqld


    1.3 whostmgr2 under %MEM
     
    #4 rodolfochka, Sep 22, 2004
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2004
  5. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How much swap is being used?
     
  6. rodolfochka

    rodolfochka Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mexico City
    did you mean this??? :

    Mem: 1023580K av, 986680K used, 36900K free, 0K shrd, 72492K buff
    Swap: 2040244K av, 528084K used, 1512160K free 113176K cached
     
  7. aromal

    aromal Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do an ls -al in /tmp and look for any abnormal files there. There is a possibility of having some malicious processes which you are not able to see from the process list in top (M). You can also do a netstat to see any invalid processes.
     
  8. Manuel_accu

    Manuel_accu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Use below mentioned command to get top memory consuming processes"

    ps aux | head -1;ps aux --no-headers| sort -rn +3 | head

    Use below command to get top cpu consuming processes:

    ps aux | head -1;ps aux --no-headers | sort -rn +2

    thx
     
  9. z268

    z268 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there anyway i can email myself the result?
     
  10. msmollin

    msmollin Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Rodol, I encountered something similar the past couple of days. From your command line, run the "top" command without quotes. See what floats to the top...... mine was cpanelsync, and I had to do a kill on the PID, which is worrisome and the reason I'm here on the forums. I want to make sure I just didn't beat the crap out of my cpanel install. Post up how you make out.

    --Matt--
     
  11. Viki

    Viki Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Code:
    USER       PID %CPU %MEM   VSZ  RSS TTY      STAT START   TIME COMMAND
    root      3982  0.0  0.2 25660 23232 ?       S    Nov22   0:00 spamd child
    root      3980  0.0  0.2 25660 23276 ?       S    Nov22   0:00 spamd child
    root      3966  0.0  0.2 25528 23524 ?       Ss   Nov22   0:01 /usr/bin/spamd -d --allowed-ips=127.0.0.1 --pidfile=/var/run/spamd.pid --max-children=5
    mysql    27725  0.8  0.2 109240 17984 ?      Sl   Nov22   6:46 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir=/ --datadir=/var/lib/mysql --user=mysql --pid-file=/var/lib/mysql/carbon.hostingdunia.net.pid --skip-external-locking
    
    I check and found all these are taking up my memory.
    Last one is creating highest server load too.

    Can anyone tell how can i get rid of these things?
     
  12. bjarne

    bjarne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I my experience system will use most of the memory however much so the clue is to look for at swap usage. You could also simply restart exim and httpd - most of the time that will help.

    If you have a bussy system with spamassign and clam and web and mail you will use ram. More activety more ram.

    I would say get more ram or move some accounts to a new server:)
     
  13. resuccess

    resuccess BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    re

    I have the same problem with memory on my PC.
     
  14. smksa

    smksa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    command cannot run


    Can anybody help why my Centos 5 server not able to run the above command ? :confused:

    It shows as follows :

    [root@svr4 ~]# ps aux | head -1;ps aux --no-headers | sort -rn +2
    USER PID %CPU %MEM VSZ RSS TTY STAT START TIME COMMAND
    sort: open failed: +2: No such file or directory

    [root@svr4 ~]# ps aux | head -1;ps aux --no-headers| sort -rn +3 | head
    USER PID %CPU %MEM VSZ RSS TTY STAT START TIME COMMAND
    sort: open failed: +3: No such file or directory
     
Loading...

Share This Page