The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MemoryError on x86_64

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by deddy, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Since upgrade to WHM 11.8 we got the following error :

    Upgrade to latest version or Update server software

    Waiting for yum to finish....Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/bin/yum", line 28, in ?
    import yummain
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/yummain.py", line 26, in ?
    import cli
    File "/usr/share/yum-cli/cli.py", line 25, in ?
    from optparse import OptionParser
    File "/usr/lib64/python2.4/optparse.py", line 1004, in ?
    class OptionGroup (OptionContainer):
    MemoryError

    Strange.
    It's a DualCore Opteron (2x2220) server with 2 GB RAM.
    OS: CentOS5 x86_64
    cPanel: 11.8.0-RELEASE_16295

    /scripts/upcp --force isn't able to fix that problem.
    /scripts/checkperlmodules looks alright
    Tested 97, 97 ok, 0 failed.

    Update system software

    Tree::MultiNode is up to date (1.0.10).
    Could not eval '
    package ExtUtils::MakeMaker::_version;
    no strict;
    BEGIN { eval {
    require version;
    "version"->import;
    } }

    local $VERSION;
    $VERSION=undef; do {
    use version;our $VERSION = qv('0.0.11');
    }; $VERSION
    ' in /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8/Unix/PID.pm: Undefined subroutine &version::qv called at /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8/x86_64-linux/version.pm line 31, line 5.
    Could not eval '
    package ExtUtils::MakeMaker::_version;
    no strict;
    BEGIN { eval {
    require version;
    "version"->import;
    } }

    local $VERSION;
    $VERSION=undef; do {
    use version;our $VERSION = qv('0.0.11');
    }; $VERSION
    ' in /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8/Unix/PID.pm: Undefined subroutine &version::qv called at /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8/x86_64-linux/version.pm line 31, line 5.
    Could not eval '
    package ExtUtils::MakeMaker::_version;
    no strict;
    BEGIN { eval {
    require version;
    "version"->import;
    } }

    local $VERSION;
    $VERSION=undef; do {
    use version;our $VERSION = qv('0.0.11');
    }; $VERSION
    ' in /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8/Unix/PID.pm: Undefined subroutine &version::qv called at /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8/x86_64-linux/version.pm line 31, line 5.
    Running install for module 'Unix::PID'
    Running make for D/DM/DMUEY/Unix-PID-v0.0.11.tar.gz

    CPAN: checksum security checks disabled because Digest::SHA not installed.
    Please consider installing the Digest::SHA module.

    Unix-PID-v0.0.11/
    Unix-PID-v0.0.11/Changes
    Unix-PID-v0.0.11/Makefile.PL
    Unix-PID-v0.0.11/MANIFEST
    Unix-PID-v0.0.11/META.yml
    Unix-PID-v0.0.11/PID.pm
    Unix-PID-v0.0.11/README
    Unix-PID-v0.0.11/t/
    Unix-PID-v0.0.11/t/1.t
    Out of memory!
    Callback called exit.
    END failed--call queue aborted at /scripts/realperlinstaller line 144.


    Digest::SHA is properly installed. So just an out of memory error.
    Never seen before. What could be the problem.
     
  2. Nhojohl

    Nhojohl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've got the exact same problem...

    =================
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 (2.66 GHz)
    1GB RAM

    Server Load 0.17
    Memory Used 52.9 %
    Swap Used 2.00 %
    ==================

    ^^^ --- Averages 99.9% of the time.
     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did anyone find a solution to this?
     
  5. rachweb

    rachweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    amsterdam
    The best way is to have 2 gb or more on memory in 64-bit
     
  6. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have 8 gig on the server.
     
  7. rgrocha

    rgrocha Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I had exactly the same problem on my double Quad Core Xeon with 4 GB with CentOS 5 installed and I revolved it increasing WHM > Tweak Settings > The maximum memory a cPanel process can use before it is killed off > 256

    See http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread...g+to+read+/home/.cpan/Metadata+Out+of+memory!

    After that I updated the system without any glitch.

    Seems like the x86_64 systems need more memory to operate.

    Hope this helps,
     
    philb likes this.
  8. philb

    philb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Concise, accurate, and to the point.

    Thanks for posting; setting to 256 has resolved the issue on the first CentOS5 x64 box we've deployed.
     
  9. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It was not. They told me it is a hardware problem.
    I did not believe them and I'm right. Just a simple
    settings problem. New in WHM/cPanel 11.

    Thanks a lot to rgrocha

    Solved.
     
  10. bking

    bking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney
    Increasing to 256M is a hell of alot of RAM for the control panel! Has anyone raised a bug about this yet?

    I too have the issue(on x86_64) and have resorted to allowing 256M. Not ideal in my mind...
     
  11. smoge

    smoge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Cpanel/WHM on Centrix Xen VM, I needed to increase this (I just set it to 512MB) to fix this problem.

    Thanks and warm regards.
     
Loading...

Share This Page