Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Migrate cPanel DNS-Only Nameservers

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by wswd, Jan 11, 2017.

Tags:
  1. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    We run a 4 nameserver cPanel-only DNS cluster. Those nameservers were installed on a 32-bit OS, which of course affects the updates now.

    What is the best means of reinstalling the nameserver boxes (OS and cPanel) whilst avoiding downtime?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Could you verify how the cluster is currently configured? Do you have the ability to obtain an additional server temporarily for migration purposes?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    I'm not sure what you mean by how it is currently configured. I do have access to temporary servers.

    Thanks!
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    For instance, is the cluster configured with direct links? There's a document here that references the configuration types:

    Guide to DNS Cluster Configurations - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    Generally, since a cluster affords you redundancy in the event one server is down, you can simply reinstall the OS and cPanel DNS-Only on each server one at a time. Once the DNS-Only installation completes, re-add the the server via WHM Home >> Clusters >> DNS Cluster on each cPanel server that syncs it's zones to the cluster.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's a cPanel DNS cluster, with Write-Only defined on the servers to all 4 nameservers.

    Sounds good, and thanks for the help Michael! Just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something. :)
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @wswd,

    You're very welcome! Let us know if you encounter any issues during the migration.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. wswd

    wswd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The DNS Cluster migration turned into a DNS Cluster**** but a ticket resolved everything. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice