The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrate cPanel to a new server.

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by doanminhchau, Dec 24, 2014.

  1. doanminhchau

    doanminhchau Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi everyone,

    My cPanel server was full of data, and I want to copy all data and cPanel' s settings to the new server.
    I have two questions, please help me.
    First, The current version of my cPanel is 11.44, I want to install the newest version on the new server and migrate all backup files to this server, is it ok?
    Secondly, I followed this link (https://documentation.cpanel.net/di...uration#BackupConfiguration-SaveConfiguration) to check what files and folders that I need to migrate to the new server, but the folder /var/cpanel have many files and folders, this make me confused, please help me that what files and folders in /var/cpanel that I need to backup and move to the new server.
    Thanks,
     
  2. doanminhchau

    doanminhchau Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dear everybody,
    I have a Centos OS server running cPanel with 11.44 version, the user data on this server is nearly full, and I need to migrate data and cPanel to the new server.
    On the new server, can I use the newest version of cPanel and backup cPanel's setting from the old server and move to the new one?
    I saw a link from cPanel: https://documentation.cpanel.net/di...uration#BackupConfiguration-SaveConfiguration
    but the folder /var/cpanel have too many files and folders. This make me confused, so what necessary files and folder in /var/cpanel that I need to migrate to the new server?
    Thanks,
     
  3. server9host

    server9host Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Did you try to transfer your cpanel account using Trasfer Tool using WHM.

    Using Trasfer Tool you can easily transfer the cpanel account on new server.



    Thanks
     
  4. danrussell

    danrussell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi :),

    What is the version of MySQL and PHP you are using on both the servers?
    If versions are latest on new server, and not on the old one, can cause errors after migration.

    So be sure to keep the versions same or upgrade the MySQL and PHP on old server first.
    Then you can easily migrate the accounts using Migration Tools in WHM. It will handle all the needed file migrations.
     
    #4 danrussell, Dec 25, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2014
  5. doanminhchau

    doanminhchau Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi server9host,
    If I use transfer tool in WHM, I can only back up all the accounts in the current server to the new one. The configuration of cPanel can't be migrated to the new server. Thanks for your advice.
    Hi danrussell,
    The version of mysql and php in my current server is old version, its version is 5.1.
    Could I use rsync tool to migrate all my accounts in /home/ folder to the new server and copy many configuration file of cPanel to the new server? This will help me save time and cut down load on the current server.
     
  6. danrussell

    danrussell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi doanminhchau :),

    Yes, you can use rsync to migrate all the accounts to new server. Its a tricky command, be careful to use the '/' in the command.
    If you wish to use Latest cPanel version, you will need to have upgraded PHP and MySQL on the new server. So you need to confirm the websites are compatible with Higher PHP and MySQL versions.
     
  7. doanminhchau

    doanminhchau Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for your advice danrussell,
    This is the first time that I migrate a cPanel server, so that I have a little worry about the procedure.
    I have two servers using cPanel version 11.40 and 11.44.
    I will install two new server with newest version and migrate all user's data and server setting to the new one.
    Thanks again,
    Sorry for replying lately because I have a long new year holiday.
    I'm in trial procedure.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It's a better idea to transfer the accounts using the "Transfer Tool" option in Web Host Manager. You can then transfer the configuration files separately:

    Transfer cPanel Configurations

    Thank you.
     
  9. doanminhchau

    doanminhchau Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello cPanelMichael,
    Thanks for your support,
    I have some issues that make me confused. My data is too big, nearly 2TB, if I use Transfer Tool, is it took too much time?
    How many setting files of cPanel that I need to backup and move to the new server.
    If I use the newest version of cPanel, the files from my old server will be appropriate?
    If I change the IP of the new server to the IP of the old one, the license will be updated automatically?
     
  10. anton_latvia

    anton_latvia Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Latvia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When we do such upgrades - we always install second (new) server with temporary IP - transfer all account and swap IP to the old IP, so we get new server running with old IP and customers don't have to update DNS.
     
  11. doanminhchau

    doanminhchau Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thanks anton_latvia,
    I highly appreciate your information.
    I do upgrade for my two servers.
     
  12. doanminhchau

    doanminhchau Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi everyone,
    The quantity of account's data is too big, I have 15 day trial cPanel version, so that I have to finish my copy progress within 15 days, If I can not, how can I continue copying the data and using cPanel?
     
  13. Saravanangdrpl

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    If you cannot done the migration process within the trail period you may change the server's main IP address & replace with the IP address which is having the cPanel trail license.

    Or else you can purchase the license from the cPanel.

    Hope this may help you on this.
     
  14. doanminhchau

    doanminhchau Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Savaranangdrpl,
    Thanks for your advice, the solution is so simple.
    It's so great, I will test with my own server.
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Where is most of the data stored? Is it in a single account or is it spread across all of your accounts?

    Thank you.
     
  16. doanminhchau

    doanminhchau Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks cPanelMichael,
    All of my data are stored in /home folder, thousands of domains in there.
    I think the restore progress is too slow.
    I got this error with with some accounts when I use transfer tool:Failed: The remote “pkgacct” command failed because of an error: ERROR: Failed to dump one or more databases, how can I fix it?
     
  17. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you notice any errors when attempting to manually backup those databases on the source server? EX:

    Code:
    mysqldump database_name > /path/to/database.sql
    Note that you can view the full transfer logs via:

    "WHM Home » Transfers » Review Transfers and Restores"

    Thank you.
     
  18. doanminhchau

    doanminhchau Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,
    I saw this error in WHM Home >>Transfers >> Review Transfers and Restores.
    This error appears with some users.
    Thanks
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's possibly related to issues with the database on the source server. Check for errors when attempting to manually backup those databases on the source server with a command such as:

    Code:
    mysqldump database_name > /path/to/database.sql
    Thank you.
     
  20. doanminhchau

    doanminhchau Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,
    Thanks for your support,

    By the way, I will change the IP address on the new server to the old server's ip address. Could you tell my what steps and files that I need to change to keep the license on the new server?
     
Loading...

Share This Page