The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

migrate cpanel to cpanel

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by k2tec, Feb 4, 2014.

  1. k2tec

    k2tec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I tried to migrate a account from cpanel to cpanel, but my server say's
    Restore for {user}

    Searching /home....
    checked 9 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /home2....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /home3....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /root....
    checked 14 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /usr....
    checked 14 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /usr/home....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /web....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Possible cpmove archives found: (/home) cpmove-{user}-1391502089.tar.gz


    There is a file cpmove-{user}-1391502089.tar.gz in the home dir.
    But this is what whm say's This feature will restore full backups, cpanel backups and cpanel move files in one of the following formats: backup-{BACKUP-DATE_TIME}_{USER}.tar.gz
    When I delete the numbers of the file he find the file but then the file is currupted.
     
    #1 k2tec, Feb 4, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    What method did you use to generate the backup archive? Do you have root access to both the source and destination servers?

    Thank you.
     
  3. k2tec

    k2tec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the reply

    This is the method I used Copy an Account From Another Server With an Account Password.
    The file is in the home dir: cpmove-{user}-1391502089.tar.gz
    Then I went to Restore a Full Backup/cpmove File and there is the file also visible (below)
    The difference is my file is shown as (/home) cpmove-{user}-1391506174.tar.gz and above is standing following formats:

    cpmove-{USER}
    cpmove-{USER}.tar
    cpmove-{USER}.tar.gz
    USER.tar
    USER.tar.gz
    backup-{BACKUP-DATE_TIME}_{USER}.tar
    backup-{BACKUP-DATE_TIME}_{USER}.tar.gz
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You mentioned the backup archive is corrupted. If it's corrupted, it's not going to restore no matter what it's named. I suggest generating a new backup using the backup option via cPanel on the source server. Then, upload the archive to the /home directory on the destination server and restore it via:

    Code:
    /scripts/restorepkg username
    Thank you.
     
  5. k2tec

    k2tec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    that's not what I meant, I did what should be possible through WHM interface.
    I know that is possible by making a backup on the source server and than upload it to the new server. But where is the migrate service for if that not working. I tried it twice. The cpmove .tar file is in the new server and it has the same size as on the source server

    .
    But I have more account to migrate to the new server, so it would be handy if this possible by the WHM transfer interface.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you elaborate what you mean by this? What steps did you take and what errors were presented?

    Thank you.
     
  7. k2tec

    k2tec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If I follow the normal way on the new server.
    Transfer-> Copy an Account From Another Server With an Account Password-> fill the fields :Domain Name,Server to copy from (IP or FQDN),Username to copy,User's password,Give new account an IP address.
    Then it is loading the cpmove-{user}-1391502089.tar.gz to the new server.

    Then I go to Backup->Restore a Full Backup/cpmove File-> Enter the username for the account you wish to restore, Replace all instances of origin server's address with new address, including in custom A records (default).
    Possible cpmove archives found: (/home) cpmove-{user}-1391506174.tar.gz (this the file it took from the old server)
    Then the server says:
    But because the file (/home) cpmove-{user}-1391506174.tar.gz don't look like this:
    cpmove-{USER}
    cpmove-{USER}.tar
    cpmove-{USER}.tar.gz
    USER.tar
    USER.tar.gz
    backup-{BACKUP-DATE_TIME}_{USER}.tar
    backup-{BACKUP-DATE_TIME}_{USER}.tar.gz

    I tried it like this cpmove-{user}.tar.gz
    Then the server is finding the file but then the file is corrupted as expected.
    I hope this is clear what I've done.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you explain why you are attempting to restore the account from a backup archive after already transferring the account? The transfer would contain the data associated to the account, so restoring from a backup archive after that would not add additional content.

    Thank you.
     
  9. k2tec

    k2tec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I rm -rf the dir's in the new server and I remove a old backup on the old server.
    Now it's working great. It took 4 min. to transfer the account.

    Now I understand what you meant.
    Thanks for your help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page