The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrate cPanel to new hardware

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Matthew McKinnon, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. Matthew McKinnon

    Matthew McKinnon Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have an installation of cPanel/WHM (11.34.0) currently running on CentOS 5.1 I have been trying to do a update to the system and cPanel via WHM but it fails due to dependency errors. Because of this I think it would be best to reinstall the system and migrate the accounts over.

    After reading the forums and FAQ I have come up with the following plan.

    1. Install CentOS 7 (new IP)
    2. Install cPanel/WHM (use a 14 day license)
    3. Copy EasyApache settings from old server to new server
    4. Run EasyApache on new server so PHP and Apache settings and cPanel instance is the same on new server as old server
    5. Log onto WHM on old server and transfer accounts to new server
    6. Shutdown Old Server
    7. Change IP on new server to match IP of Old Server (
    8. Re-Activate the cPanel License so the License activates to the correct IP Address.
    Can I please get a review of it to see if I am missing anything or if this is even correct and will work (I am not sure about the License part).

    Thanks.
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    it should work just fine
     
  3. Mark Muyskens

    Mark Muyskens Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Citrus Heights, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'd put some thought into handling DNS during the migration. NS1 to the new server, keep NS2 on the old; suspending domains on the old server as they are migrated.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, your initial plan looks solid. Your plan involves using the same IP addresses so there's no need to change the name server IP addresses at the domain registrar.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Matthew McKinnon

    Matthew McKinnon Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A point that was brought up by the team leader was that this Server also handles our "billing" So I would need to transfer all of this to the new server as well. Would this get transferred when I do the transfer accounts to new server from WHM? Or is this a separate module that will need to get transferred?

    Thanks everyone so far :)

    (Also just a little off topic. Can someone please tell me why all my posts are "This message is awaiting moderator approval, and is invisible to normal visitors."????)
     
    #5 Matthew McKinnon, Feb 1, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2016
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You're a new user on the forums. As you become more active by posting these sorts of restrictions are removed.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you using a specific billing application, and if so, is it connected to an existing cPanel account? You might have to reinstall the application on the destination server if it's not associated with an account. Data is typically stored in a database that you could copy over.

    Thank you.
     
  8. Matthew McKinnon

    Matthew McKinnon Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We are using WHCMS as the billing module. So this will need to get migrated across as well.
     
  9. Matthew McKinnon

    Matthew McKinnon Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I mean WHMCS
    (I can't edit the post for some reason)
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page