Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Migrate EA3 to EA4 issues

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by rogerw, Oct 1, 2017.

  1. rogerw

    rogerw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    53
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Any help, from anyone would be appreciated!

    I was advised that cPanel version 66.0.23 does support FastCGI. Unfortunately when I attempt to migrate from EA3 to EA4, I'm advised the opposite:

    First is says: "Setting the system default PHP version to v5.6 using the Apache 'fcgi' handler"

    but then later it says:

    WARNING “Cpanel::Easy::Apache::Fastcgi” ignored since it does not have an RPM.

    Also I need: Access, Fileprotect, MailHeaders and they seem not supported either?

    Please see the below (output when I attempt to migrate on one of the servers)...


    Code:
    root@xxxxxxxx [~]# /scripts/migrate_ea3_to_ea4 --run
    checkyum version 22.3
    info [migrate_ea3_to_ea4] Setting the system default PHP version to v5.6 using the Apache 'fcgi' handler.
    ⚠ As of cPanel & WHM version 58, EasyApache 4 is stable and ready for production. For more information, read our EasyApache 4 documentation ([URL='https://go.cpanel.net/EA4']EasyApache 4 Home - EasyApache 4 - cPanel Documentation[/URL]).
     By continuing, you agree that you understand the following information:
             - While the system runs the migration script, some of cPanel & WHM’s features may not operate.
             - Wait for the system to complete the script before you attempt any other actions on your server.
             - If you revert to EasyApache3, the system automatically rebuilds PHP. This may take 15 - 30 minutes or longer to complete.
             - Do you wish to continue? [y/n]y
    Warnings/Blockers from Vendor: Cpanel
    Cpanel Migrate Blocker
    Cpanel evaluates known issues such as network connectivity
     WARNING Adding the missing package, ea-apache24-mod_suexec, to the EasyApache 4 profile.
     WARNING Current profile has the following MPMs: ea-apache24-mod_mpm_worker
     WARNING ea-apache24-mod_mpm_worker found, removing conflicting php DSO package
     WARNING “Cpanel::Easy::Apache::Access” ignored since it does not have an RPM.
     WARNING “Cpanel::Easy::Apache::Fastcgi” ignored since it does not have an RPM.
     WARNING “Cpanel::Easy::Apache::Fileprotect” ignored since it does not have an RPM.
     WARNING “Cpanel::Easy::ModCloudflare” ignored since it does not have an RPM.
     WARNING “Cpanel::Easy::PHP5::MailHeaders” ignored since it does not have an RPM.
    
    
             - Do you wish to continue? [y/n]n
    info [migrate_ea3_to_ea4] Exiting with no changes.
    info [migrate_ea3_to_ea4]
    A record of this process may be found at : /usr/local/cpanel/logs/packman/migrate_ea3_to_ea4.Sun_Oct_1_12:54:06_2017.log
    root@xxxxxxxx [~]#
    I still cannot migrate any of the servers from EA3 to EA4 (and that's of great concern).

    I've looked at cPanel resources, I've looked through the forum, but have found no real solution.

    What can I do to migrate servers from EA3 to EA4? They key issue is whatever was in EA3 MUST be available in EA4 - I do NOT need multiple PHP versions. (All sites use the same PHP version, all sites use FastCGI).

    Thank you.
     
    #1 rogerw, Oct 1, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 1, 2017
  2. vacancy

    vacancy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    rogerw likes this.
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    The FCGId Apache module is available in EasyApache 4, but it's currently only offered from the experimental repo, as mentioned in the previous post. You can read more about it's limitations on the following document:

    Apache Module: FCGId - EasyApache 4 - cPanel Documentation

    I did want to provide some additional information about the other modules you mentioned:

    In the case of Mod_Access, it's deprecated in Apache 2.4. Thus, it's not included with EasyApache 4. Instead, the following modules are compiled with Apache by default:

    Code:
    mod_access_compat.so
    mod_auth_basic.so
    mod_authn_core.so
    mod_authn_file.so
    mod_authz_core.so
    mod_authz_groupfile.so
    mod_authz_host.so
    mod_authz_user.so
    This feature is now controlled under the "Security" tab in "WHM >> Tweak Settings":

    Tweak Settings - Security - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    CloudFlare offers instructions on how to install this Module at:

    GitHub - cloudflare/mod_cloudflare

    The latest installer includes support for EasyApache 4.

    This functionality is included by default with PHP in EasyApache 4. You can test this by sending a test email via a PHP script and noticing the "X-PHP-Script" entry in the message header.

    Let us know if you have any additional questions.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    rogerw likes this.
  4. rogerw

    rogerw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    53
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thank you to those who replied so far (it has been helpful).

    I've run into another road block, and still cannot migrate to EA4 because:

    Servers must have Apache-FastCGI (this one already addressed above),
    and
    Servers must have the ability to install and use Apache DSO (as some of the have websites that need DSO). - I can't seem to locate the solution for this.

    Servers must have PHP-MailHeaders (this one already addressed above)

    Servers must have Apache-Fileprotect (I can't seem to find the workaround for this one - Can anyone help please?)

    In conclusion...

    I've been combing through cPanel, Google, forums, etc. for several days, maybe I'm just not seeing it, but can't find solutions for:
    DSO
    Fileprotect

    Thanks all for any help - Muchly appreciative! :)
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Information on using DSO with EasyApache 4 is documented at:

    PHP Handlers - EasyApache 4 - cPanel Documentation

    File Protect is enabled via the "Enable File Protect" option under the "Security" tab in "WHM >> Tweak Settings" on systems using EasyApache 4.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. rogerw

    rogerw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    53
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    @cPanelMichael
    Was able to get pretty much everything working easily - Thanks very much to you and all who contributed!

    For any other's reaching this thread. I also observed the following:

    We'll want PHP-FPM (FastCGI Process Manager) as an alternative PHP FastCGI implementation with some additional features useful for sites of any size, especially busier sites.

    In WHM navigate to:

    Home >> Software >> MultiPHP Manager


    To use PHP-FPM on accounts using PHP 7.2, you must install PHP-FPM for those PHP versions. To do so, perform the following steps below:

    Click Install to open EasyApache 4 in a new window.
    Install the following packages:
    ea-php72-php-fpm
    ea-apache24-mod_proxy_fcgi


    After you install the desired packages, return to the previous window and click Refresh. The system will display your updated PHP-FPM packages.

    Click "Install"

    Note: The above was all displayed within the EA4 interface!
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice