Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Migrate email to a different domain name?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by Lisaweb, Apr 5, 2018.

  1. Lisaweb

    Lisaweb Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    We need to move our email to a completely different domain name. (I've searched for an answer to this, but can only find info on how to move email to a server with the SAME domain name.)

    My plan is to re-create all the email accounts on the new domain, and then copy over everything under each of their respective old email folders.

    Example:

    Copy everything under the old domain email folder:
    /mail/my-domain.NET/email-account-name

    and paste it into the new domain folder:
    /mail/my-domain.COM/email-account-name

    Will my plan work? If not, is there another way to do it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    What you can do is clone the complete account, alter it with new domain name, and restore it..
    The other way is that you can sync the mails folder and then later on rename the mail boxes inside the mail directory..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3,137
    Likes Received:
    222
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Lisaweb

    Is moving a requirement? I ask this only because you can change the primary domain name of the account without moving everything.

    Our documentation here goes over what can be done: Modify an Account

    If you find that you do indeed need to move the mail copying as you're suggesting would work, you would just need to ensure that the ownership and permissions match that of the new account.

    @24x7server suggestions should work as well.

    Thank you,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #3 cPanelLauren, Apr 6, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2018
  4. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    28
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've done something similar.
    FTP each individual mail folder off the old server and in to the new one.
    You'll need to access the root folder of your domain, and not the public_html folder.
    When in the root, you'll find the individual mailboxes in the mail folder.

    I guess if you recreate the email accounts exactly the same, it should make it pretty easy for you.
    eg: bill.smith remains bill.smith and not billsmith
     
  5. Lisaweb

    Lisaweb Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    This seems like it would work just perfect for me!

    Does anyone know the best way to clone an account? Because what I can see doing, is cloning the old domain, then renaming the cloned domain to the new domain name. Thanks for any advice you can offer on a Saturday....
     
  6. tmcstom

    tmcstom Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Basically you would do this

    1. Create a backup of the source account
    2. Change the primary domain/username of the source account
    3. Restore the backup of the source account


    Though you may run into issues with addon/parked domains during the restore so I would remove those from the source account after changing the primary domain. Then when you restore the backup it should restore those addon/parked domains without issue.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice