The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrate sites within DNS cluster

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by 4hosted, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. 4hosted

    4hosted Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    dont know if you guys have had this before but was wondering if we could have a live migrate feature where we can move clients from one server to another in the cluster?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You mean like WHM -> Transfers -> Copy an account from another server?
     
  3. 4hosted

    4hosted Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How about WHM -> Transfers -> Copy an account TO another server?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have root access to both servers, why wouldn't you want to use the existing functionality?
     
  5. 4hosted

    4hosted Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel is about making your life easier.. why have to login to 2 servers when the funcionality could be added in? its not lazyness its just about having a control to move accounts accross servers if needed
     
  6. sarhosting

    sarhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Already possible mate:

    WHM -> Transfers ->

    Unless you want full transfers, liek 100 accounts at once, then thats manual and its a bitch.
     
  7. mikelegg

    mikelegg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think you can move an account between 2 servers in the same DNS cluster - the new server would try to create a DNS zone file, but it would already exist, so the transfer would terminate.
     
  8. mikelegg

    mikelegg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I stand corrected - I just did it and it worked fine.

    Gotta love cPanel :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page