The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrate to another Datacenter

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mr_Stepfire, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. Mr_Stepfire

    Mr_Stepfire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Dear Cpanel user,

    In a few weeks we will like to migrate to another Datacenter, we already have 2 DNSservers on 2 diffrent locations. If i change my ip with the IP Migration Wizard, will my dnsfiles also be updated? And what does the IP Migration Wizard change in my dnsrecords because some customers have custum a record to there own mailserver.

    And what files you i need to backup before i start with the migration?
     
  2. Mr_Stepfire

    Mr_Stepfire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Can plz someone answer my question?
     
  3. brendanrtg

    brendanrtg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Frankly, I dont see any difficulty in what you are going to do? It would normally be a walk in the park and from my experience, all you need is to manually change your server settings and the NS to use the new ips.

    I assumed you have clustering enabled on your DNS and if thats the case, all yo need to do is to sync them once you have changed the settings on the hosting server and it will fall thru to the DNS.

    I have never used the IP migration wizard but I suppose it would be doing what we normally would do manually.
     
    #3 brendanrtg, Jun 8, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2007
  4. Mr_Stepfire

    Mr_Stepfire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    i gona change my ipadres and i want to know if the ip migration qizard also edit my dnsrecords. We have our dnsclustered over 2 networks with dnsonly.
     
Loading...

Share This Page