The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrate to remote MySQL

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by maquinadigital, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. maquinadigital

    maquinadigital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Greetings,

    I have a VM server running CPANEL 11.30.1, with local MySQL.

    I think it's time to move to a remote, dedicated MySQL server but, as it's a production system for almost 1000 domains, I need to know some things before I move.
    So, I thought I come and ask the experts :)

    1. Is there any way to migrate the local databases do the remote DB, in CPANEL? I'll have to do that manually?
    These are the manual steps i thought of:
    - dump local mysql
    - shutdown local mysql
    - import dump into remote
    - configure cpanel and add remote mysql server


    2. Is it possible that the remote MySQL is a "MySQL Cluster"?

    Any help and tips would be appreciated.

    Best regards
    Daniel
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For 1, that would appear to be a good method to migrate the databases to dump them to ensure you have a good back, stop MySQL locally entirely, import the data to the remote machine, and then configure WHM to connect to the remote MySQL server.

    I'm a bit uncertain for question 2 if you are asking if you can connect multiple cPanel machines to 1 remote MySQL machine. If you are asking this, then it is possible to do that yes. We have a few discussions on this at the following location:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f49/setup-...ing-another-whm-server-169974.html#post784042
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f334/trans...ysql-database-server-case-45083-a-171466.html
     
  3. maquinadigital

    maquinadigital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Daniel,

    I'm not entirely certain on this one, but provided MySQL Cluster works the same in functionality as MySQL does normally and it is rpm-based, I do not see how this would pose an issue. I would suggest getting up a test cPanel box first to try this out to ensure cPanel can properly work with it before switching over your existing production server.

    Thanks!
     
  5. maquinadigital

    maquinadigital Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi,

    thank you for your feedback.

    I'll do that and then I'll get back here to post more information.

    Best regards
    Daniel
     
Loading...

Share This Page