The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrated domain emails not working

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Diggster, Feb 27, 2017.

  1. Diggster

    Diggster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    edmonton
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is so strange. I run 2 servers. I migrated all accounts from one to the other so I can maintain just one. I did this over several weeks with no problems. Now i just did the last 5 sites and now I have experienced problems.

    The thing that I believe most likely caused the issue was the move of the "example.com" site with NS1 was pointing to an IP on the new server and NS2 pointing to one IP from its current server.

    I renamed the following
    • named.conf
    • named.conf,v
    • remotedomains
    • remotedomains,v
    • userdomains
    • userdomains,v
    as per Tristaans point in solving the migration from duplicate domian error from this link: Copy account fails because domain is owned by system

    Now there is just no email - cant send or receive, nothing in / nothing out
    Even if I choose an email for the problem domain that receives...
     
    #1 Diggster, Feb 27, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 27, 2017
  2. Eminds

    Eminds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    did you see any logs in /var/log/exim_mainlog ?
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,619
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Why not just update the domain's DNS normally, why would you go to the trouble of renaming all those files for some other issue?

    You migrate when you're moving from one control panel to another. You're moving accounts from one cPanel server to another though, these are different things.

    Sounds to me like you need to update the DNS properly on the affected accounts.
     
  4. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Go to the old server where the other nameserver is configured, you will be having the old accounts DNS zones there, so you can just update the A record of the website and point it to the new server. This way the requests will always be coming into your new server without fail.
     
  5. Diggster

    Diggster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    edmonton
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here are the logs

    2017-02-28 09:24:56 Failed to find user "" from expanded string "${lookup{$domain}lsearch {/etc/userdomains}{$value}}" for the virtual_aliases_nostar router
    2017-02-28 09:24:56 H=mail.host.tld [2.3.4.5]:51114 Warning: ACL "warn" statement skipped: condition test deferred: Failed to find user "" from expanded string "${lookup{$domain}lsearch {/etc/userdomains}{$value}}" for the virtual_aliases_nostar router


    Failed to find user seems common - I have never done this in my life so I am a newbie
     
  6. Diggster

    Diggster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    edmonton
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    All the domains point to ns1.mydomaindns.com and ns2.mydomaindns.com. The mydomaindns.com account was moved to the new control panel. NS1 pointed to an IP (correctly) on the new control panel - NS2 point to an IP on the old panel. I changed NS@ to an open IP address on the new panel.

    I realize this is not the way to do it - But I have no clue as to the proper way. But for reasons I am stuck doing it and need to fix it fast.
     
  7. Diggster

    Diggster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    edmonton
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    I did this - no luck - yet - could be propogation?
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,619
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Probably. How long ago did you make your changes?

    Please feel free to open a ticket to cPanel Technical Support if you wish. You used some instructions posted by Staff back in 2012 and might have added to the issue. If somethings not correct, they should be able to point you in the right direction properly after taking a closer look.

    GL!
     
Loading...

Share This Page