The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrating Accounts from 32-bit to 64-bit Linux

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jkoconnell, Apr 23, 2011.

  1. jkoconnell

    jkoconnell Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have migrated accounts to new servers before, but both have been same version of Linux.
    Now I plan to migrate from 32-bit RHEL to 64-bit CentOS. Both are kernel 2.6.18.
    Both are WHM 11.28.87.
    Will I be able to restore a cpmove file created on the 32-bit system on the 64-bit system without any issues?

    Thank you.

    Server 1:
    Linux s 2.6.18-164.el5 #1 SMP Tue Aug 18 15:51:54 EDT 2009 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
    Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 5.6 (Tikanga)

    Server 2:
    Linux 2.6.18-238.9.1.el5 #1 SMP Tue Apr 12 18:10:13 EDT 2011 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    CentOS release 5.6 (Final)
     
  2. lijeeshsd

    lijeeshsd Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    There won't be any issues. 64 bit cpanel will happily restore cpmove backups created in 32 bit cpanel. However, ensure that new server has similar/compatible apache/php/mysql setup compared to old server. Otherwise, websites may be broken after migration.
     
  3. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    There won't be any issues in restoring domains. But you are not supposed to copy any of the binary files from different arch servers As you are restoring cpmove files only there is no fear of binary files. Go ahead !
     
  4. pak

    pak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    restoring cpmove files is not a problem for 32 to 64 transfer. Hopefully it goes smoothly for you.
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The only issue I've seen occur has been rrd files for bandwidth graphs. Since the architecture types differ, those graphs can differ and not transfer at all or properly.
     
  6. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    That was a new info though. I was thinking only binaries will cause issue.

    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page