The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrating accounts to new server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by devGOD, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. devGOD

    devGOD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I'm migrating accounts to a new server... i've tried to match all the settings except for Mysql... the old server has mysql 4.1 and the new server has 5. Will the migration wizard in whm/cpanel detect and convert the databases to mysql 5 when copying them over?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes. When we migrate MySQL databases, we dump the databases to a .sql file then import the databases from this .sql file, making the transition between servers with different versions of MySQL run smoothly.
     
  3. StevenD

    StevenD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have an issue migrating accounts, using the whm copy multiple accounts gui, I cannot seem to connect between the servers on a none std ssh port, I have my ssh setup to use port 34567 (example) instead of port 22, although I can ssh between servers from each server in an ssh session, the whm gui seems to fail when trying the same, even though I add the correct port number, it still fails

    Does this whm feature only work on port 22?
     
  4. devGOD

    devGOD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    i guess the quick fix would be to login to the old server and change the port back to 22. other than that i don't know if it would work on another port other than 22, mine was set to the default.
     
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Personally I wouldn't bother with the migration wizards or tools for this ....

    However, back to the original question regarding MySQL, I would recommend making a complete backup of all MySQL databases for safety and then upgrade the old server to MySQL 5 and matched up to the new server before making the transfer as this should make things much easier for you getting things transitioned. The same goes for most other applications; I always try to match everything on both ends to as close to the same versions as possible before transitioning everything to a new server.
     
  6. Data 1

    Data 1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Columbus Ohio
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I use a non standard ssh port and transfers work fine, singles and multiples. Did a few tonight.

    As far as the conflicting MySQL versions, not sure but would attempt a 4 to 5 move, just not a 5 to 4. It leaves the account in tact on the original server anyway in case something messes up you can still transfer and convert manually.
     
Loading...

Share This Page