The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrating Cpanel to Cpanel servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cgimickalo, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. cgimickalo

    cgimickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    we are planning on moving to a new server next month. It's been about 5yrs since our last move. I've been readling through some of the issues recently postings regarding transferring multiple accounts from old server to new server, both of which are using Cpanels which I assume have been addressed now. Are there any current issues we should be aware of when transferring multiple accounts to the new server or other issue to look for? We have about a dozen or so accounts to transfer.

    Also does anyone know of a kind of summary, check list/todo list, to use when setting up the new Cpanel server before transferring the accounts to it ... sort of step by step list to do when setting up the new server?

    thanks for any info or assistance,

    Mike
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The recent existing issues have been for transfers from other specific control panels. There are currently no known issues with cPanel to cPanel transfers. The transfer tools in Web Host Manager will migrate all of the necessary data, so the DNS is the only item that you must handle in addition to the transfer itself. Ensure you update your name servers for the domain names, or modify the name server IP addresses if you plan to keep the name servers the same.

    Thank you.
     
  3. cgimickalo

    cgimickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok thank you, this is what I was looking for. Seem to be fairly easy then to do the transfer. We do plan to keep the same nameserver (DNS) I will just need to update the nameserver IP's for the new server then.

    Thanks,

    Mike
     
  4. cgimickalo

    cgimickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I been reading through the WHM docs on copying accounts, the thing I couldn't find is if it also transfer any MySQL databases associated with each account transferred. When you copy the accounts from the old server to the new server does also transfer the accounts MySQL databases also, if they are sent up, and the databases username & passwords or do I need to setup all those manually.

    Mike
     
  5. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Unless you instruct it not to (or something goes wrong) the transfer account function will copy the entirety of the account including MySQL databases and their associated usernames and passwords.
     
  6. cgimickalo

    cgimickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok thank you for the info. I was pretty sure it did just wanted to double check.

    Mike
     
Loading...

Share This Page