The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrating Servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jfreak53, Sep 6, 2012.

  1. jfreak53

    jfreak53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just moved an account from a two version old WHM install on a VPS to a new dedicated with the most recent cpanel/whm install. I used the copy account option. It copied fine, all PHP thing's are working. Problem being NO rail apps are working at all. All old rail apps on old system were working perfectly, now they just stopped working and I'm getting a 503 error:
    http://www.gaugeus.com/ramblings

    Any clues?
     
  2. pwhjenny

    pwhjenny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you use thin or mongrel?? Always good idea to check corresponding logs to detect the reason.
     
  3. jfreak53

    jfreak53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Mongrel, well that's what was on the old system. To be honest I know NOTHING of Ruby at all. The server only has 4 accounts on it, one of which is a Ruby site. The owner of that site knows Ruby, the whole server is his, I just sold it and set it up. The original server was setup with Ruby 2 years ago, we just switched today. To install ruby I ran:

    /scripts/installruby

    WHM did everything else, so really I don't know. What log could I check to see what the ruby error is exactly?
     
  4. pwhjenny

    pwhjenny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Go to your rails path . Then look for log folder. There you will find mongrel.log file in which all mongrel logs are stored. The rail application uses bunch of symlinks so make sure you execute ls -l to know actial path.. Log folder is generally located in app directory.
     
  5. jfreak53

    jfreak53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This is what I get when I try to startup his app with Mongrel:

    It was complaining I was running an older version of Rails and needed to install 2.2.2 using: gem install -v=2.2.2 rails

    But I haven't done that yet, I just went into environment.rb and commented out the rails version line and now it gets that far at least. Don't know if I should install the older version or what?! :S I'm really not a ruby guy at all

    I should mention the app that won't work is a Mephisto blog.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I should state that to start his App I run:
    mongrel_rails start -d

    Then go to his main domain, which redirects me to ramblings subdir automatically when I then get the 503 error.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. jfreak53

    jfreak53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ticket #3151961
     
Loading...

Share This Page