The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrating to new cPanel Box

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fowen, Jul 5, 2008.

  1. fowen

    fowen Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    We are migrating all of our users from one box to another. We were planning on changing the TTL settings in DNS so the move would be a little more transparent to the users but we can't seem to find a option to change the TTL for all of the accounts on the box.

    Is there an option to do this? If not, is there a better way to handle this?
     
  2. UBERHOST

    UBERHOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California, US
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If both boxes are using 11.23 or later, you can also make use of the express transfer option that will reduce downtime by having the old server's DNS records point to the new server thus minimizing any downtime caused by DNS propagation issues.
     
  4. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I used the express transfer option for the first time today, and it did some very odd things. The copy process got about halfway finished, started failing claiming the root password I supplied was incorrect.

    From what I can see it looks like because one account had an SSL with it, it pulled that over for the server, then suddenly the WHM at the *new* server was displaying a WHM login for the *old* server.

    I'm completely confused now. It somehow changed the root password on the OLD (transfer *from*) server...

    In fact, this "pointing old server to new server" seems to create many more problems than it solves. I can't access the old server now through SSH, the root password has changed, etc. Please tell me this isn't how it's supposed to work...*sigh*
     
    #4 MaraBlue, Jul 27, 2008
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2008
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Definitely let our technical analysts take a look at this for you.
     
  6. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I found the solution (thought I'd amended this post, but maybe it was another post on the same subject). It *is* something cPanel should be aware of, as well as users.

    What happened was cPanel changed the DNS entries on the old server to also point to the new server. This is great...except it also changed the DNS of the hostname entry.

    I'm not sure which cPanel department I should report this to (I suppose I could submit a BugTrak ticket, though not sure this would be a bug or a feature request...?). At the very least, a warning that this could/will happen would be helpful.
     
Loading...

Share This Page