The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrating to other DataCentre and IPrange

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bazzi, May 21, 2008.

  1. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi There,

    Sorry for the n00b question but I want to check my steps to migrate to a other datacenter AND iprange with my servers.

    These are my steps:
    OLD DC:
    1. ``perl -pi.bak -e "s/14400/900/g" *.db``
    2. Wait 48 hours
    3. Change everything in the server so eth0 will bootup on new network
    4. Run the migrate tool in WHM
    5. Finish it.
    6. Sync dns servers.
    7. Shutdown servers

    8. Transfer to new DataCentre

    NEW DC:
    9. Boot up and check if eveything is working.
    10. ``perl -pi.bak -e "s/900/14400/g" *.db``

    The downtime will be approx 15 min for the dns change and 30 for the actual transfer. So let we say 1 hour in total...

    Is that right? Or am I something missing?
     
    #1 bazzi, May 21, 2008
    Last edited: May 21, 2008
  2. budway

    budway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You have to change the serial number under each dns also.
     
  3. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks, I almost forgot....
     
  4. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There is no actual downtime if you use clustered DNS.
     
  5. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes it is clustered, but the dc's are aprox 30 min drive from apart.
     
  7. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So you are moving your servers ( physically ) ?
     
  8. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes we are moving our servers physically.
     
  9. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You should have said that in the first place :))
     
  10. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes you are totaly right. It was to obvios to me, so I forgot to mention... Sorry, but again it is a physical move!
     
  11. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well everything that you pointed out looks ok.
     
  12. UBERHOST

    UBERHOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California, US
    We recommend long extension cords. :D

    In all seriousness, did you finish migrating? Did all go well?
     
  13. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We are moving this saterday, so I will reply if it went OK.
     
  14. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    everything went well, except one minour incedent:
    We forgot to install test licenses, and the store returned a 403...
    So that were some frustrating minuts ;)

    Thanks eveyone for the comments!
     
  15. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I am considering a similar move. At step 4 above, is it the "IP migration tool" that you are referring to? If so, did that work successfully?

    Did you use zsu to update the serials?
     
  16. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
Loading...

Share This Page