The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migrating to Virtual Server: Need expert help !!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hines, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. Hines

    Hines Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    First of all, Greetings.....and I'm a Newb. ;-)

    I'm moving my domain to a virtual dedicated server. I have made a back-up of the old website and need to upload it to the new server. PROBLEM: I can't figure out how to get this back-up onto the new server!

    The Details:


    OK. So the domain is currently still hosted on the old server (Server A).

    The new server (Server B) is actually a virtual server that I host completely, and will eventually have multiple domains on it. I am using Web Host Manager.

    Here's my problem...

    Using WHM, I have created an account on Server B, identical to the one on Server A. However, I can't just go into that account in the normal way like this:

    http://www.domain-name.cpanel.

    Why not?....Because that's the front-end access for the OLD server (Server A.) If I COULD go into that account on Server B, then it would be simple for me to upload any back-up from Server A simply by using cPanel.

    If the new account on Server B had a different name, there wouldn't be any problems at all.

    Also, I can't create an FTP account (or don't know how) to get into Server B because "ftp.domain-name" simply takes me to the old account (Server A).

    So my whole problem is figuring out how to get access to the new server so I can upload the back-up from the old server. It's hard to do because everything that I would normally use to get access to the server (cpanel or ftp) actually uses a domain name....and that domain name is currently attached to the old server.

    I did a little research and found Putty--which will supposedly give me root access to my new server--but I couldn't get it to work successfully. Putty kept denying me access. (Now I have to get SSH keys set up or something? this is getting too complicated!!! )

    There has to be something simple that I just don't understand.

    Hopefully I have been clear in explaining my problem

    :(


    P.S. I tried this:

    WHM >> Transfers >> Copy an Account from Another Server with Account Password

    ....but it seemed like it was taking forever. Also, that copies the account (account name, passwords, etc.)...but not the actual website installation (i.e., the data), right?
     
    #1 Hines, Apr 23, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2010
  2. JamesAB

    JamesAB Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    It sounds like you are in over your head.

    Rather than trying to manually transfer the backup, try this.

    1. Login to WHM on Server B
    2. Delete the duplicate (empty) account you created on Server B.
    3. Use the WMH built in copy account feature Transfers >> Copy an account from another server

    Good luck,
    James
     
  3. khiltd

    khiltd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You need to use the IP address rather than the name. Actually, you probably need to pay someone to do this for you.
     
  4. Hines

    Hines Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    @ Khiltd: Bullocks.


    @ JamesAB:

    Thanx JamesAB. My question is: I understand that this transfers the account, but does it also transfer all the data that comprised the website (i.e., a WordPress install), including databases?

    Also, why doesn't WHM simply have a File Manager (like in cPanel) so I can have root access to the server above the account level?
     
    #4 Hines, Apr 24, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2010
  5. JamesAB

    JamesAB Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Hines,
    When you use cPanel's built in copy account features it will transfer all the contents and databases from the original site.

    They are protecting you from yourself.

    You can install ConfigServer Explorer if you want browser access to the entire file system on your server. However, to be able to install this you will need to be able to SSH into your server. Since you've mentioned that you are unable to do this, I strongly urge you to hire somebody more knowledgeable to help you. You cannot expect administering a server to be a simple "point and click" job. Trust me, it will cost you a lot more in the long run if you are unable to properly secure and maintain this server once you have live sites on it.

    Good luck,
    James
     
    #5 JamesAB, Apr 24, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2010
  6. Hines

    Hines Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanx. I got it working. It did require compiling CURL. No big thing...one night's of research and my site is back up and running. However, I have a small problem I'll mention in another thread.

    thanx, guys.
     
  7. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You could just simply directly transfer the account from the old server using WHM's migration tools and would be much simpler.

    If you want to upload your backup file then I would put it in /home and then you should be able to use the normal backup restore in WHM.

    There is your first mistake. You don't create an account on the new server that you are going to transfer in advance of transferring the account -- the transfer / restore process does this for you!

    If the domain is still pointing to the old server, you need to use the new server's IP address to access Cpanel like such:

    http://x.x.x.x:2082/ (x.x.x.x is your new server's IP address)

    Wrong on both sides of that statement ;)

    Again you clearly have your domain still pointing to the OLD server

    Nope! Guess again --- Cpanel and WHM can be accessed using any domain (if pointing to the server) or numeric IP address attached to the server. You do not need to use the domain names to access Cpanel.

    You are over your head there --- leave "Password Authentication"

    Nope, that copies EVERYTHING and that is why it takes a long time because it has to backup your entire account on the old server and then transfer all that information to the new server and restore everything.

    However, you cannot create the account on the new server before using those tools which you already said you did --- DELETE THE ACCOUNT you created on the new server and then you will be able to transfer.
     
  8. khiltd

    khiltd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Day 3. Any progress?
     
  9. Hines

    Hines Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    @ Khiltd:

    Yes. Great progress...thanx to the wonderful members in these forums.

    I got the website transferred...looks and runs great....except for the subdomains.

    It's a DNS issue.

    I started another thread about this particular problem, and thanx to Spiral and James AB, almost have it figured out.
     
Loading...

Share This Page