The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Migration and TTL value

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by postcd, Apr 11, 2014.

  1. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello, im before migration of hosting accounts from one cpanel server to another.

    My aim is to lower the TTL value of the nameservers so the ISP of website visitors dont keep old server IP value too long and its quickly rechecked and get new IP value from nameservers.

    My question is this:

    Do i need to change DNS zone file on my old hosting server and set lower TTL value? Or i need to change TTL value on my domain registar where i have nameservers registered?

    Which one has priority and which one is taken into account by internet service provider?

    In my case i cant change TTL on my domain registar side (Namecheap appears not to allow change and it is 48 hours TTL)

    So would be good if DNS zone files TTL has priority? thanks
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you change the value in the DNS zone itself on the cPanel server.

    Thank you.
     
  3. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for clear reply, ok i change value, but can you explain why is not needed to change TTL on domain registar side? And please answer my question "Which one has priority and which one is taken into account by internet service provider?"

    (im speaking about ttl on registar side and hosting server side)

    thx
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your cPanel server has priority because you are using name servers with IP addresses that are added to the cPanel server. The DNS Zone on the cPanel server is what DNS servers will lookup.

    Thank you.
     
  5. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    thx, is there any way i can veriffy that low TTL value in DNS zone file on my cpanel server will really make ISP to get new IP data quicker?
    Any online tool any linux command?

    This tool checks resolved IP for a domain name: http://cachecheck.opendns.com/

    Here is the zone file:
    5ftLo.jpg

    So i need to change all 86400 values please? I dont see TTL A value, only NS and SOA...

    Linux command to see TTL values:
    Code:
    dig @ns3.nameserver.com -t A www.domainpointedtothatnameserver.com
    It returns 86400 so appears this value is taken by ISP

    On above attached image there is 4 times 86400 value, do i need to change all these for lowering cache time os ISP? Named, Bind restart is needed?
     
    #5 postcd, Apr 12, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2014
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There are some commands listed here you might find helpful:

    Mass TTL Change

    If you decide to use those commands, then ensure you update the serials for your zones via:

    Update Serials for Zones

    Thank you.
     
  7. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thx Michael, but im not having SSH access and my provider told he wont do it, thats why im asking in my previous post..

     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, simply use the "Edit DNS Zone" option in WHM to change the TTL values in each zone. Replace all the entries with the default "86400" value to the new value that you decide upon. Restarting the named service is not required because WHM reloads Bind for you.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page