The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Minimum DNS entries for subdomains?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by mobcdi, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. mobcdi

    mobcdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I need to manually edit my zone file and I was hoping a helpful forum member would spare a few minutes to answer a few questions for me.

    I have a zone lets call it test.domain.tld which will hold all my DNS records (relatively small zone).
    I have a number of subdomains off that called home.test.domain.tld, away.test.domain.tld,

    I need to create cpanel accounts with uniqueID.home.test.domain.tld and need www & ftp access and these are the dns records I thought I needed to have but its not working for me, the IP address is the same for all accounts

    1. uniqueID 14400 IN A IPADDRESS
    2. www.uniqueID 14400 IN A IPADDRESS
    3. ftp.uniqueID 14400 IN A IPADDRESS

    Anyone able to tell me if
    1. Does the spacing have to be a tab, or can I get away with using a space
    2. What do I need to add/remove to have correct entries
     
  2. mobcdi

    mobcdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There are already CNAME values
    mail 14400 IN test.domain.tld.
    www 14400 IN test.domain.tld.
    ftp 14400 IN test.domain.tld.


    Should I add CNAME records for the accounts uniqueID.home.test.domain.tld or would that just add confusion?
     
  3. cPanelGregK

    cPanelGregK Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Greetings,

    All necessary A records should be added automatically once you create the subdomain or addon domain. The entries would be added under the domain.tld zone file.

    Is there a reason that you're wanting to add these manually?
     
  4. sanjaydagar123

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    delhi, india
    If you can access WHM, you just go to create account and put domain like home.test.domain.tld, away.test.domain.tld and put username and password for each domain, you will no need to add manually change dns entires, it will do automatically, when you will create account.
     
  5. mobcdi

    mobcdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi cpanelgregk,

    I need to manually edit my dns files because for some reason the secondary dns for my zone does not pick up the new zones when they are added to my cPanel DNS (the secondary dns is outside my control)

    • I delete the zones that get created when I add the new accounts from my cPanel DNS and add the uniqueID and www.uniqueID to my zone file for test.doman.tld
    • I also deleted the home.test and away.test zones
    • I restart the bind service afterwards as well

    Its a very small zone and the changes (when I get them to work) won't be happening alot and will be bulk inserts of between 20 & 40 accounts at a time

    Could there be a record I'm forgetting to add to my test.domain.tld zone?
    Do I need to modify the top part of the zone file in some way?
    Is there a way to see the actual A record entries the outside world gets when my DNS is queried so I can see if they are fresh?
     
    #5 mobcdi, Oct 2, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2009
  6. cPanelGregK

    cPanelGregK Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Greetings mobcdi,

    Are you utilizing a cPanel DNS cluster, or is the secondary nameserver completely out of your control? If there are any issues with the clustering itself, please do open a support ticket so we can have a look.

    As far as the DNS zones themselves are concerned, I would suggest creating/editing these within WHM so that you can be sure that proper syntax and spacing is utilized.

    It might be a bit easier if you could submit a ticket, so that we can see first-hand what you're trying to do here. If you'd like, you can reference this forum post and we'll be happy to have a look. As always, we're standing by.
     
  7. mobcdi

    mobcdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The secondary dns is completely outside my control (that might be a good thing :)
    I don't have clustering enabled but somehow when i create new accounts on my host the zones appear on my cPanel dns until I delete them

    I haven't got any emails from cpanel@dnshost to say there was a problem with the DNS server and named is still running
     
  8. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't create a "subdomain.domain.com" DNS zone

    Instead, modify "domain.com" and the only thing you
    need to add is a single line with the subdomain IP.

    Code:
    subdomain IN A %ip%
    
    If manually editing, "subdomain" is the first part of your subdomain
    address and %ip% is the IP address where that subdomain is hosted.
     
  9. p-root

    p-root Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    INDIA
    Hi,

    I have a cpanel /WHM server,and can any body tell me that how many "A" records whm suppots in one dns zone,because i have more then 700 "A" records in my one domain(under domain control panel),and now i want to transfer it to my dedicated server(whm/cpanel),so please guide me ....

    If any body have any good control panel for the same(to create more then 1000 "A" records in once zone file),please tell me...

    Thanks... :)
     
  10. hostingtech

    hostingtech Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
Loading...

Share This Page