Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Mirror cPanel server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by khaledhu, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. khaledhu

    khaledhu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hi all,

    we are an ISP using cPanel to host our customer websites, we are planing to have a mirror server to the production one, we installed cPanel on the second server but the problem is when the new server restore websites from production server it add new server IP addtess to the configuration files, so if i lost the first server, how can i run the second server to keep my customers up and running without down time.

    please help me in this


    Thanks
     
  2. stdout

    stdout Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Assuming your intentions are bringing up the original IP from the other server to your mirrored one.
    Mass the replace the IP in below files (command included):

    Code:
    replace '127.0.0.2' 127.0.0.1' -- /var/named/*.db
    replace '127.0.0.2' 127.0.0.1' -- /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
    replace '127.0.0.2' 127.0.0.1' -- /var/cpanel/users/*
    127.0.0.1 - IP used on original server
    127.0.0.2 - Default IP being assigned to accounts automatically.

    The commands above will replace 127.0.0.2 with 127.0.0.1.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. khaledhu

    khaledhu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Thanks for your help
     
  4. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There's a missing quote in the replace examples above:

    Code:
    replace '127.0.0.2' '127.0.0.1' -- /var/named/*.db
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. stdout

    stdout Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks! :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice