The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mirror download setup questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Trudger, Jul 10, 2010.

1. Trudger

Trudger Registered

I'm new to most cPanel functions, and I have what are likely quite basic questions. I don't even know if I can ask them properly, so I hope you'll bear with me.

According to the general server info relected on the main panel, I'm using cPanel version 11.25.0-RELEASE.

I've received a request to set up a mirror download of a game by an independent developer. I've created an FTP account, access to which requires both a user name and password. However, this is perhaps not the best way to handle this sort of thing.

The developer wants access without a password. I could find no way to do this and I'm thinking it might not be possible with a dedicated FTP account. I've looked for information in the cPanel documentation, help files and these forums and have found nothing.

I thought maybe anonymous FTP would be the way to go, but I've been unable to locate any specifics regarding setting this up. I've seen it mentioned that permissions should be used in conjunction with anonymous FTP, but I haven't been able to find anything about how to do this.

The documentation mentions a page that defines "how anonymous users interact with your FTP server" and says "Using the checkboxes, anonymous users can be denied or allowed access to your FTP server for downloading or uploading content." Despite considerable searching, I've been unable to locate such a page.

The documentation goes on to say "It is recommended that anonymous users be barred from uploading files to your FTP server because this allows anyone to upload malicious software to your website." Again, I've been unable to locate information on how this is accomplished.