The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mirror website for 100% uptime

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jcsolutions, Jan 12, 2006.

  1. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    I've been through the forums here and I think what I need is something like DNS failover, but I'm still not completely clear on this. Could someone please help? Here's my situation...

    - I have 2 servers with full root access.
    - Server1 at DC1 using ns1.domain.com and ns2.domain.com
    - Server2 at DC2 using ns1.mysite.com and ns2.mysite.com

    - Server1 holds a website that needs to be online 100% of the time.

    As I understand it, I can rsync the website to Server2 as often as needed, so that takes care of updates. (Correct?)

    Now I need to set it up so that if Server1 goes down, the website will automatically be run from Server2.

    Can the DNS failover be done with 2 servers? How?

    (I've read that ppl suggest zoneedit.com and others for this, but I'd prefer to keep using my own nameservers if possible. Any help is greatly appreciated!)

    Thanks.
     
  2. CaMer0n

    CaMer0n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I would also love to know how to do this.
     
  3. AlexF

    AlexF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This setup works well when you use a third party DNS service like DNS Made Easy. ;)
     
  4. Danny_T

    Danny_T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Netherlands
    maybe you can use something as a DNS round robin for the www record.
    Two A records on WWW

    Dont know if that helps you.
     
  5. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Is this allowed?
     
  6. jcsolutions

    jcsolutions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    You mean multiple A records? Sure, it's allowed. Unfortunately DNS round robin is more of a load distribution method rather than keeping a domain up at all times.
     
  7. brewer1st

    brewer1st Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Multiple A records

    I have set up two A records in the whm for a domain, however the nslookup only shows a single ip for the domain.

    for example...

    xxx.domain.com A 111.111.111.111
    xxx.domain.com A 111.111.111.222


    Is there a doc on this or any suggestions as to why it is not showing up?
     
Loading...

Share This Page