The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mirroring cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Gus, Jul 1, 2004.

  1. Gus

    Gus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, California
    Hello,
    Does anyone know how I can mirror servers.
    Or mirroring the servers so that what every is on one will be on the other as a backup server.

    Thank you.
    gus:rolleyes:
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. Gus

    Gus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, California
    there is no other way?
    I know the DNS servers is going to be one of the main stuff like NS1 , NS2 LA server. NS3 , NS4 NY server . I am guessing something that would copy root save. and keep saving each new file from server to backup server. so if LA server would go down the DNS to NS1 , NS2, would not work so it would roll over to NS3 , NS4 to the new server and would be on and running. Then again has anyone done this? or am I just making this up in my head.
    Or is there away to network VPS's ?

    if anyone knows anything let me know Plz.

    From.

    Gus:rolleyes:
     
    #4 Gus, Jul 2, 2004
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
  5. beebware

    beebware Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    There is a way - we've got two servers in two seperate datacenters synchronising data between themselves every 5 minutes. If the "backup" server detects the main server is unavailable for any reason (even if it's just Apache down, MySql down or a whole network/hardware failure), then it'll take complete control over all applicable sites. Maximum of 5minutes outage.

    However, due to the work we had to put into getting the script working etc etc, I can't give too much information (commercial confidentiality and all that), but I think I can say have a look at how /scripts/cpbackup works - that'll start you going...
     
  6. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    That's the spirit!
     
    sawbuck likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page