The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Missing Account in WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ron Phillips, Jul 22, 2005.

  1. Ron Phillips

    Ron Phillips Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Today, I changed an account name and domain via the WHM, and it didn't appear, the old domain no longer worked and the new one didn't either.:eek:

    So I changed it back by passing the username in the URL, and the old domain was active again, but not visible from the Account listings. Another issue is, and I should have considered this before making the change, that fantastico was attached to that account and now it isn't available via cpanel.

    I've checked the httpd.conf and there is an entry for the old domain, as it should be. Since cpanel relies it to create the account list, I tried to roll back the httpd.conf file. Unfortunately all the roll backs of the last day cause Apache to fail. I don't know why that is.

    Anyway, I need to get this domain listed again, and hopefully that will fix the fantastico issue.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

    Ron
     
  2. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    what do you get when you ping the new and the OLD a/c.
     
  3. bsasninja

    bsasninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    look

    look the domain at the httpd.conf to see where it is and which the user is. Maybe there was an error in the modification process.
    Sometimes happened to me that a user added the www when he created the domain at whm.
    As whm includes www alias, in apache conf appeared like this www.www.domain.com
    I removed the www and the appeared in the list account menu. :)

    bye!
     
  4. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    This just happend to me today. I changed an accounts domain from a subdomain to a domain they purchased and next thing I know, their account is gone. The home directory is still there, and the virtualhost was edited successfully in httpd.conf, but the account is not listed in WHM's account list, but it is in other pages, where you can select them, but with the old domain. I also can't login to cPanel with that account, not even through WHM.

    Now I don't know how to add the cPanel user again without screwing up the still existing homdriectory and databases and other email stuff and if creating a new backup now will even work for an account that is only half there (in a matter of speaking).

    EDIT:
    Just fixed it (wow, that was fast even for me...)

    You have to change the changed domain (and possibly username in other cases) in the /etc/trueuserdomains file.

    Reporting to bugzilla now.
     
    #4 Blue|Fusion, Jul 26, 2005
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2005
  5. pizzaman

    pizzaman Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It happened to me too. Run this to fix it: /scripts/updateuserdomains
     
  6. mgorovoy

    mgorovoy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC
    Additional steps may be needed to fix this problem

    When an account is not showing up in WHM, first you should execute script /scripts/updateuserdomains as stated above. If it reports that DNS= line is missing from some of the users' cofiguration files, you must edit the respective cofiguration files in /var/cpanel/users directory for these users and ensure that DNS= line contains the correct domain name.

    Once this is done for all the users' cofiguration files that were flagged by the /scripts/updateuserdomains script as missing DNS= lines, execute that script again to make sure it processes the corrected users' configuration files. You may need to restart cPanel by executing command /usr/local/cpanel/startup in order for the settings to take effect.

    If after above actions have been performed the user account is still not showing up in WHM, edit Apache configuration file /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf after you make a backup copy of its current state, and search for the username or domain name of the missing user (if you were in the process of changing username and/or domain name, search for both old and new values). If you find the appropriate section, verify that the settings are consistent by comparing them with a known working user settings, and correct the ones that are not consistent. If you cannot find a VirtualHost section for this user, copy the section of a known working user, when replace username and domain name within copied section as appropriate. After you have saved the Apache configuration file, execute command 'httpd configtest' to ensure your new configuration is valid, when restart Apache by executing command 'httpd restart'.
     
Loading...

Share This Page