The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Missing Parked Domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ExtremeGuy, Oct 2, 2014.

  1. ExtremeGuy

    ExtremeGuy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi everyone,

    I was attempting to park a domain "example.org" on top of another domain. I had entered "example.org" in the "Domain to Park" section, and had started typing "foo" in the "Park" section.

    Then, probably due to some brain malfunction, I clicked submit without selecting a domain to park on top of. I assume it worked because I had "foo" typed in the "park" field.

    The entry was added, but now I cannot unpark the mistaken entry as there is no "foo". I can't repark it as it says it is already parked elsewhere.

    How do I recover "example.org" so that I can repark it correctly?

    For reasons beyond my current control, I am still on a very old WHM 11.30.0

    Jason
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,784
    Likes Received:
    665
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you elaborate on what's preventing you from updating cPanel so we can help you address that issue? This is a very old version of cPanel that is unsupported and needs to be updated to prevent these types of issues.

    Thank you.
     
  3. ExtremeGuy

    ExtremeGuy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There's a few things stopping me doing the update:

    - I don't know what applications may or may not break by updating. As I inherited this setup, I am not 100% familiar with what changes have been made, or why it was never updated in the first place. This is the same reason I have not yet ran EasyApache as I do not know what applications may be affected.

    - The OS is still CentOS 5.2 - I do not know if the latest WHM and CPanel will be adversely affected by this.

    Upgrades are on the roadmap, but I currently need to address this problem. Where can I find and adjust the ownership of the parked domain?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,784
    Likes Received:
    665
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can manually remove the entries for this domain name from the following files/locations:

    Code:
    /var/cpanel/userdata/$username/main 
    /var/cpanel/userdata/$username/$primarydomain
    /var/cpanel/users/$username
    /etc/userdatadomains
    Then, rebuild the Apache configuration file via:

    Code:
    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    Also, ensure the DNS Zone for the domain name is removed:

    Code:
    /scripts/killdns $domain
    Thank you.
     
  5. ExtremeGuy

    ExtremeGuy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you very kindly for your response.

    As it turns out, all I need to run was the script to kill off the DNS entries. The mistake I had made did not alter any of the files in the userdata.

    Jason
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,784
    Likes Received:
    665
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page