The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mkvhostpasswd resource hog problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hostiz.com, Jan 18, 2006.

  1. Hostiz.com

    Hostiz.com Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, so I have about 1000 accounts on my server however what seems to be slowing down is mkvhostpasswd. I heard this is a known issue, is there anything I can do to optimize this?
     
  2. MMarko

    MMarko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well if you have 1000 accounts on 1 box you should be able to buy one more box :D
     
  3. Hostiz.com

    Hostiz.com Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    its free hosting. 1400 signups in a week and a half. Right now the server load is at .20 and the memory is 40% and its running smooooothe. I dont know why at offpeak hours it slows down so badly.
     
  4. randomuser

    randomuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This issue has been brought up a few times on these forums. Search for: mkvhostpasswd

    One user stated they cleaned it up, but they never posted their code. And yeah, it is a resource hog, as is reselleradmin.

    Code:
    opendir(PROFTPDVHOSTS,'/etc/proftpd');
    my @NAMELESS = readdir(PROFTPDVHOSTS);
    @NAMELESS = grep(!/^\.+$/, @NAMELESS);
    closedir(PROFTPDVHOSTS);
    
    Is this really necessary? Is this even where the problem is?
     
  5. Hostiz.com

    Hostiz.com Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have no idea what the code you just posted is, but im more confused now than when i first came here. :confused:
     
  6. web2corp

    web2corp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone have an update on this?

    Hello everyone,

    We are also a free host (web1000.com) and we are migrating our system from windows 2000/2003 to cpanel, and we are now having this ridiculous script eat resources for 2-3 minutes per account creation. I see the function in the script that seems to loop through ALL of the accounts, but it doesn't seem to do anything (It is the section posted above). Has anyone else found a fix for this, and if they have can they please submit code. We are up to our necks in code migrating everything over, and just don't have the development resources currently to address this obvious flaw in this software.

    Thanks,

    Brandon
    http://www.web1000.com
     
  7. web2corp

    web2corp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    An update on this, for anyone in the future

    Here is the response from cpanel support:

    Hello,

    This is a known bug and has been resolved as of the EDGE build. I would
    recommend changing your preferred build to EDGE and doing another /scripts/upcp
    --force.

    We expect a new CURRENT out within the next 2-3 weeks, however, in the
    meantime, EDGE is quite stable.

    I am upgrading now, and crossing my fingers.
     
Loading...

Share This Page