Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Mobile Outlook authentication error

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by zstergios, May 24, 2019.

  1. zstergios

    zstergios Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    in last 2 days I'm getting complains that Outook in mobile does not work for them.
    On default client and thunderbid it works.


    My settings:
    - Removed -

    Cipher Suite
    Code:
    ECDHE-ECDSA-CHACHA20-POLY1305:ECDHE-RSA-CHACHA20-POLY1305:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256:ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:DHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256:DHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES128-SHA256:ECDHE-RSA-AES128-SHA256:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES128-SHA:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA384:ECDHE-RSA-AES128-SHA:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES256-SHA384:ECDHE-ECDSA-AES256-SHA:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA:DHE-RSA-AES128-SHA256:DHE-RSA-AES128-SHA:DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA256:DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA:AES128-GCM-SHA256:AES256-GCM-SHA384:AES128-SHA256:AES256-SHA256:AES128-SHA:AES256-SHA:!DSS
    The error: Please check your username password (can't connect)

    Any ideas how to fix it?
     
    #1 zstergios, May 24, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: May 24, 2019
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,161
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This sounds like an issue with the mobile client, are your clients able to connect to webmail on the mobile devices?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. zstergios

    zstergios Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes it works via webmail.

    I'm using in app configuration
    mail.domain.tld:993 & 465
     
    #3 zstergios, May 27, 2019
    Last edited: May 27, 2019
  4. zstergios

    zstergios Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Solved.

    I had set to "blacklisted" the US via cpHulk. I set it to no specified and worked

    It supposed that it blocks USERS that conntected THROUGH USA IP, right?

    Please consider to investigate this issue
     
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,161
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you blocked US IP addresses and your users are using an IP that originates from the US then the logical conclusion would be that they would be blocked. Based on that it doesn't sound like there's anything to investigate further, can you explain in more detail please?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. zstergios

    zstergios Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes this the right logic.
    But users are from Greece. I tried it myself.

    Seems Outlook connected to IMAP from their servers and not directly from the APP
     
  7. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,161
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @zstergios

    It could be that the ISP they're using is utilizing US IP's? There's nothing we can do to stop that from occurring though.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. zstergios

    zstergios Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, I don't think so, I never had ISP issues.

    Yes I know but if my theory it's correct then IMAP password is stored on Microsoft's servers and not localy
     
  9. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,161
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    While I'm not a Microsoft expert I don't believe that's the case when using Outlook, I believe they store passwords in the system registry, though I could be wrong, this isn't something that we'd have the ability to assist with.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. zstergios

    zstergios Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's worth a try to check it your self, just for test case.
    I know that you can't do anything about it
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice