Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Mobile website and changes to DNS record

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by mickalo, Jul 31, 2018.

  1. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    I have a customer who had a mobile website setup with their domain. They ask if the following changes can be made to their existing DNS record see attached image file

    can this be down without causing problems with the rest of the DNS record and the non-mobile website on the server ?

    TIA

    any assistance would be much appreciated !
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 mickalo, Jul 31, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 1, 2018
  2. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    any info would be appreciated

    thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello @mickalo

    The screenshot you provided, is that A record and CNAME being added for the mobile site only? It's difficult to tell you yes or no when I'm unaware of the rest of the configuration.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Ok the information I received is this would be added to the domain's existing DNS zone file on the server, the addition A and CNAME entries. This would be added to the additional info already setup for the domain on the server. I hope that makes sense.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    HI @mickalo

    Yes, I understand but without knowing if that A record matches their current domain I don't know how it will affect the site. Is the domain listed in the A record the current domain or is it a mobile-specific site?

    If it is their domain they would be redirecting it to be hosted wherever that IP points to. The CNAME record will point www.theirdomain.tld -> theirdomain.impress.ly and if www.theirdomain.tld is pointed to your server currently it would be redirected to wherever they are pointing theirdomain.impress.ly


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    here is a section of the zone file listing the current A and CNAME entries;
    Code:
    example.com.   14400   IN   A   75.126.200.223
    localhost   14400   IN   A   127.0.0.1
    example.com.   14400   IN   MX   0   mail.example.com.
    mail   14400   IN   A   184.173.68.122
    www   14400   IN   CNAME   example.com.
    ftp   14400   IN   CNAME   example.com.
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #6 mickalo, Aug 1, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 1, 2018
  7. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @mickalo


    Based on what you've shown me the changes will direct the site to a different IP address than the one it's pointed to currently. It will also redirect www.domain.tld to a different location. So effectively yes the changes can be made but the domain will not be hosted on the server anymore. Furthermore, this looks like it will affect the domain mobile both mobile and not mobile if the domain you're showing is the primary domain name.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Thanks for the information this is what we figured would happen but just wanted to verify before making any further changes. We will be going a different direction with this then.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @mickalo


    I understand, glad I could help clarify!

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice