The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

'Mod FCGID' was changed to '1' by 'Fastcgi'

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by garingas, Nov 10, 2007.

  1. garingas

    garingas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am upgrading an Apache 1.3 to 2.2 using the new Easy Apache for the first time. My reading on the cpanel support docs page makes me think that I would prefer not to use fcgid and fastcgi and just use suPHP instead.

    Docs page:
    http://www.cpanel.net/support/docs/ea/ea3/ea3php_advanced.html

    Whenever I save my config, I get the message 'Mod FCGID' was changed to '1' by 'Fastcgi' even though Fastcgi for php is not checked.

    Even if Fastcgi was checked, it could be used by ruby without requiring php integration so I don't get it.

    Am I just not understanding how this works or is the value of Fastcgi always on even if the checkbox is unchecked.
    (Release - WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-R17853)

    I've attached my saved build.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. garingas

    garingas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hmmm, How is everyone setting up Apache/PHP

    If no one else is useing suPHP without Fastcgi, what is the best configuration setup choice?
    (The docs made it a appear to be a good idea.)

    I'm only interested in PHP5 on this server, I would like to make it easier for me to be able to catch any script spammers, but I want all the standard scripts to run.

    How have you setup your system?

    Thanks!
    Garingas
     
  3. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm using php5/suphp without fastcgi... attached is my profile
     

    Attached Files:

  4. maysoft

    maysoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  5. garingas

    garingas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Excellent!
    So if I am patient and wait for the next build, then I can build what I like.

    I appreciate the historical info.

    Thanks,
    Garingas
     
  6. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thank you, that action was due to a logic error that I've fixed and will commit and publish as soon as repository access is restored.
     
  7. cPDan

    cPDan cPanel Staff
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This was publishes last night in rev 3112, thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page