The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mod Security

Discussion in 'Security' started by aaronkolodjski, Dec 18, 2009.

1. aaronkolodjski

Does Mod Security plugin block bots like msn and google, i installed with the default config in whm and received this:

65.55.106.112 Access denied with code 501 (phase 2). Match of "rx ^((?:(?:POS|GE)T|OPTIONS|HEAD))$" against "REQUEST_METHOD" required. [file "/usr/local/apache/conf/modsec2.user.conf"] [line "38"] [id "960032"] [msg "Method is not allowed by policy"] [severity "CRITICAL"] [tag "POLICY/METHOD_NOT_ALLOWED"]

That ip is msn bot?

Just woundering if it blocks some of these bots, and if so a link to a ruleset that dont?

Aaron

2. aaronkolodjski

I found a solution to whitelist ips if anybody wants to try this. Keep in mind im not a pro, but found this to work for me. and after doing it msn was able to bot my page :)

At the very top of your config file in whm for mod security put:

SecRule REMOTE_ADDR "@pmFromFile /pathto/your/whitlist.txt" "nolog,phase:1,allow"

Then drop your ips in the whitelist.txt

restart apache :)

Works great for me, if thats not the correct way to do this please point out another way with any suggestions, thanx

3. aaronkolodjski

Also in your whitelist.txt file with your ips if you wanna open up a range of ips

just drop the end off the ip like

Found this to work as well

4. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  5. aaronkolodjski

re

nice tool, but how to you put the ips in. I installed to try it out and it says id number?

6. Infopro

Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter: