The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mod_bw and /scripts/setbwlimit NOT working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mm1250, Apr 20, 2008.

  1. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok,

    I went into EasyApache and added the Mod_bandwidth. Than I ran the

    /scripts/setbwlimit --domain=domain.com --limit=1024

    Said it was all done.

    Went to try to download a file from that site and it was obivous I was downloading more than 1k second. So, has anyone got this to work?

    BTW, I am using Apache 2.2.8, So I am assuming it is using the mod_bw and not mod_bandwidth since _bandwidth is for Apache 1.x and _bw is for 2.x?

    http://www.cpanel.net/support/docs/easyapache_bandwidth_module.htm
     
  2. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I submitted a support ticket for thsi so I hope to hear form cPanel on this one.
     
  3. mm1250

    mm1250 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can anyone confirm if they have gotton this to work?
     
  4. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The module used for limiting bandwidth usage differs depending on the branch of apache you are using. The modules that are used are:

    * Apache 1.3.x - mod_bandwidth - from http://www.cohprog.com/mod_bandwidth.html
    * Apache 2.x - mod_bw - from http://apache.ivn.cl/


    Both Apache branches use /scripts/setbwlimit to modify the bandwidth limits for specific virtualhosts. See /scripts/setbwlimit --help (after you compile Apache with the module) for more information.

    Example

    # /scripts/setbwlimit --domain=www.yourdomain.com --limit=1024

    PS I think you want more than 1024 - as that literally is 1kb and if you set a site that way OUCH !
     
  5. feijao

    feijao Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did you got this fixed?

    I've tested it and looks like it doesn't work too.

    We've used it in the past but now we can't make it work.
     
  6. rgripoll

    rgripoll Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem here, stbwlimit does not work anymore
     
  7. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Still does not work. Anyway to get this to work with Apache 2?
     
  8. webstyler

    webstyler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    but..

    setbwlimit work for anyone ?

    Also here not work, have never work

    may be better to suggest cpanel to remove it

    ??
     
  9. paulkoan

    paulkoan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Great - today I completed an easyapache run across our servers to get mod_bandwith up and running, and find this post.

    It seriously doesn't work?!
     
  10. webstyler

    webstyler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here still not working in more than one server.

    any support update ??
     
  11. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    We finally moved to mod_cband. It's a bit of a hassle to install, but seems to work fine.
     
  12. webstyler

    webstyler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    wort without issue with Cpanel ?
     
  13. NightRider

    NightRider Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    nope, still doesn't work......
     
  14. webstyler

    webstyler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    CP any update about setbwlimit ??
     
  15. Slatko

    Slatko Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, gives any update why its not working?
    How can i limit the bandwidh from an Domain or an User?
     
Loading...

Share This Page