The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mod_gzip + apache 1.3.34 = no go?

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by myrem, Dec 14, 2005.

  1. myrem

    myrem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I did a manual upgrade of cpanel and apache a few days ago. This evening, one of my users noticed that gzip compression was no longer occuring.

    I checked the httpd.conf and everything looked good. I checked the server tolkens and it lists mod_gzip. I checked my tmp dir for gzip content and I see the .wrk files being created and deleted -- however, apache is not deliverying the compressed content!?

    I ran easyapache, unchecked gzip and rebuilt. I then edited the httpd.conf and removed all references to mod_gzip.

    I downloaded the mod_gzip package (1.3.26.1a) from sourceforge and built/installed it. I checked httpd.conf file and added my configuration section for mod_zip. I restarted apache.

    Again, I still see the temporary .wrk files being created and deleted -- yet apache is not serving the gzip compressed files.

    Can anyone confirm they have apache 1.3.34 and mod_gzip 1.3.26.1a functioning successfully together?

    Thanks
     
  2. henker

    henker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes. How do you verify if your content is gziped ?
     
  3. myrem

    myrem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm using this site:

    http://www.whatsmyip.org/mod_gzip_test/

    For the time being, I've enabled zlib compression globally in my php.ini, but I'd like mod_gzip functionality because it compresses so many other related objects (stylesheeets, html, etc)
     
  4. henker

    henker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    #4 henker, Dec 14, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2005
  5. myrem

    myrem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm well beyond checking simple things like verifying the headers.

    I've already checked the headers manually (yes with Firefox's extension). Apache is not delivering mod_gzip's compressed content, although the content is being created (.wrk files). No "Content-Encoding: gzip" headers.

    is there any possible issue with the load order of the apache modules? Should I move it to the first, move it down to the last?
     
    #5 myrem, Dec 14, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2005
  6. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Have you checked the gzip config to check that:

    - it's set to compress all the file types that you are expecting it to compress
    - the values for mod_gzip_minimum_file_size and mod_gzip_maximum_file_size aren't affecting your tests
     
  7. myrem

    myrem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    page size of tests vary... all between 50-100k uncompressed. static .htm files.

    How's this look to ya?

    Code:
    <IfModule mod_gzip.c>
    mod_gzip_on Yes
    mod_gzip_can_negotiate Yes
    mod_gzip_static_suffix .gz
    AddEncoding gzip .gz
    mod_gzip_update_static No
    mod_gzip_command_version '/mod_gzip_status'
    mod_gzip_temp_dir /tmp
    mod_gzip_keep_workfiles No 
    mod_gzip_minimum_file_size 500
    mod_gzip_maximum_file_size 500000
    mod_gzip_maximum_inmem_size 60000
    mod_gzip_min_http 1000
    mod_gzip_handle_methods GET POST
    mod_gzip_item_exclude reqheader "User-agent: Mozilla/4.0[678]"
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.html$
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.shtml$
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.htm$
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.shtm$
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.php$
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.phtml$
    mod_gzip_item_exclude file \.js$
    mod_gzip_item_exclude file \.css$
    mod_gzip_item_exclude file \.wml$
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.pl$
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.cgi$
    mod_gzip_item_include handler ^cgi-script$
    mod_gzip_item_include mime ^text/html$
    mod_gzip_item_include mime ^text/plain$
    mod_gzip_item_include mime ^httpd/unix-directory$
    mod_gzip_item_include mime ^application/x-httpd-php
    mod_gzip_item_include handler ^perl-script$
    mod_gzip_item_exclude mime ^image/
    mod_gzip_dechunk Yes
    mod_gzip_add_header_count Yes
    mod_gzip_send_vary Yes
    </IfModule>
     
  8. myrem

    myrem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Okay, I haven't seen anyone offer proof that Apache 1.3.34 is compat and properly working with mod_gzip-1.3.26.1a.

    Does anyone have a page (HTML/HTM), that I can view the response headers of that will prove the above work together?
     
  9. simplestar

    simplestar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes, I had it working 70% compressionr rate on Apache 1.3.34 and installed via cPanel. Sorry I do not have proof for you because, after nearly killing my server the other week for unrelated problems, I haven't reinstalled it yet. But in my opinion, I do think it sometimes better to run Apache build twice. i.e. build for curl and curl ssl support then go back and recheck curl and curl ssl support with add gzip. My theory is, give it too many things to build at once and it goes in all directions. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page