The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mod_layout Install

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by XPEric, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. XPEric

    XPEric Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I've been trying to install mod_layout for my free host that I'm running so I can start forcing ads on user pages. I see the old source (download.tangent.com) isn't hosting it anymore, and when I try to compile the source I got from a friend, it installs fine, but httpd won't start. I'm running Apache 2.2.22. Any reason why it would do this or is it just not updated for this version of apache?

    Thanks,
    Eric - InstantFreeWeb Hosting
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. XPEric

    XPEric Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One small problem: mod_layout isn't an option in EasyApache.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The link was not to EasyApache itself but to creating custom opt modules, which isn't actually required if you compile something from source using apxs and then create something using /scripts/posteasyapache to put the module back into the Apache extension folder. Custom opt modules are far more difficult to configure than doing this from source.

    If the source were valid you received, you should be able to follow this guide to get it working:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/mod_layout-installed-but-not-phpinfo-172049.html#post711229

    Which I link to in this post:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/forcing-adverts-certain-websites-248751.html#post1030661

    Unfortunately, the issue is likely with the source you have. You'll have to ensure it is at least release 5.0 or higher per mod_layout site. The only source I could really find for 5.1 was here:

    mod_layout-5.1.tar.gz - wcoserver - mod_layout-5.1 -

    I don't know how reliable it is. I would caution using it possibly. There are other ways to accomplish what you are trying to do.

    Thanks!
     
  5. XPEric

    XPEric Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's actually the link I downloaded it from. It filled httpd.conf with invalid entries. You mentioned "other methods". What are they? Its a free service, so therefor we're trying to keep the costs down (no iAds/iPanel if possible).
     
  6. XPEric

    XPEric Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What are the "other options"? I don't want to use paid software (Ex: iAds/iPanel) since this is a free service.

    Thanks,
    Eric - InstantFreeWeb
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page