The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mod_perl problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dzevad, Dec 18, 2001.

  1. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    Does anyone else has problems with mod_perl? I tried to install new buildapache.sea from layer1, but after that I had to uncomment AddModule mod_perl.c to make it work. I tried to put back old apache (1.3.20) but again mod_perl doesn\'t work. Burs.net told me that some servers are having this problem and some don\'t, and they didn\'t yet figured what\'s wrong and how to fix it. Has anyone else found some fix for this? I really need mod_perl :).

    Thanks,
    Dzevad Durakovic
     
  2. Mat

    Mat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Have you tired recompiling the mod_perl.so? And then readd the into the httpd.conf?
     
  3. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It didn\'t help...
    Anyone else having this problems? Burstnet tells me that many servers have it, but seems no one else is complaining?
     
  4. asuservice

    asuservice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I\'ve seen this on two servers ... one with cpanel and one without. The funny thing is mod_perl is working on both. Are you sure your\'s isn\'t?

    I really don\'t know much else ... just chalked it up to another great mysteries of the world.

    Best Regards,
    Mike
    ASU Service
    http://www.NetBizHelpers.com
     
  5. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dzevad,

    Try installing ASP-Apache from Layer 1. That automatically installs perl-mod.;) I\'ve had no problems.
     
  6. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hmmm I don\'t really need apache asp but if it would help i would install it :). Thing is I get mod_perl installed everytime I install buildapache.sea (or fp-5.0-upgrade.sea). I checked source of mod_perl in buildapache.sea and it\'s same one you can get from cpan.org. I hope burst.net won\'t mind me quoting them (but it\'s still strange how no one else here said anything about this problem except me):
    \"We are aware of this problem and are looking into possible causes (and solutions).

    The problem seems to be deeply seeded in the apache DSO support, which mod_perl uses.

    Because this problem is affecting so many clients, we are putting all our resources into solving it. Once we have a sulotion we will apply it to your server and let you know.\"
     
  7. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:d6d5192886]Hmmm I don\'t really need apache asp but if it would help i would install it [/quote:d6d5192886]Installing Apache::ASP is entirely harmless (I or Cpanel.net take no responsibility for any consequences though ;)).

    It is a script file that allows Perl to do some ASP stuff. And it can work side by side with any ASP Linux interpreter such as Chilisoft with no conflicts.

    I have the InstantASP Linux interpreter working side by side with Apache::ASP happily.

    Again, it\'s up to you.

    Happy Christmas to all Cpanel buffs.
     
  8. dzevad

    dzevad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I once had Apache ASP. Well I tried that too, but Apache ASP didn\'t help. Mod_perl problems stays. I just don\'t like install things I don\'t need thats all

    Happy Christmas to all :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page