Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

mod_security

Discussion in 'Security' started by wills, Sep 30, 2005.

  1. wills

    wills Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Is cPanel close to getting mod_security ready for production? I would like to use it but I'm not sure if I should since it looks like cpanel might include at a later point. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Zaf

    Zaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I believe mod_security has been available as an addon of cPanel and works perfectly fine IMO. If you already knew that and were talking of something else that I didnt understand well...sorry about that.
     
  3. domtaj

    domtaj Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    On WHM 10.6.0 cPanel 10.8.0-R27 mod_security doesn't show properly the admin screen as it does in WHM 10.6.0 cPanel 10.6.0-C210
     
  4. domtaj

    domtaj Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Update somehow it worked today :confused:
     
  5. wills

    wills Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    no workee workee for me.
     
  6. PanelGuy

    PanelGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I get the not showing up issue and hourly mails telling me the DBI failed.
     
  7. PanelGuy

    PanelGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
  8. sh4ka

    sh4ka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Uruguay
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yeap, same happened to me using it as an Add on. So I decided to install it from the source and have no problems at all. You should use eth0's guide at www.eth0.us, it is very easy.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. IberHosting

    IberHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hello,

    remove it from WHM using the addon modules section, then reinstall mod security again from modules. Im sure your problem can be fixed with this method.

    Good luck ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yes painless, and worked well :)
     
  11. flash7

    flash7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    What's the best rules for cpanel?
    I found this site but server load and CPU it's too hight!
     
  12. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    New York
    I have been banging my head against the wall for the past 10 days with mod_security. I think i got a pretty good install so far.

    You should use some of the files on http://www.gotroot.com/mod_security+rules
    but be advised that site is horribly slow during the daytime in the USA. I put in the individual files like "exclude", "rootkit", "badips", "blacklist2", "useragents".

    If you try to put "rules" or "blacklist" you really need to have a very powerful machine or it will slow you down alot and you will see heavy loads in httpd.

    Also be sure to read http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?p=222056#post222056
    as it has some important info on the recent AOL/CS "bcc" spamming nightmare thats going around.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. flash7

    flash7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    You right, with your advise my server is better way :)

    thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice