The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mod_Userdir Error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Victor Santos, Aug 22, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Victor Santos

    Victor Santos Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello o/ I crack my mind trying solve this problem!

    When i try acess Ip/~user/infophp.php i get error : "Not Supported", and i have change the
    Apache mod_userdir Tweak on WHM/Cpanel and dont have any change.

    After see in this forum one post talking i need change my PHP Handler to suPHP and change public_html to group "user : nobody" i have oher error: "500 Internal Server Error".

    I really dont know how i fix this, i need my clients have a temp address :( Any help me pls...
     
  2. Victor Santos

    Victor Santos Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. 123Host

    123Host Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Apparently there is some sort of bug. My data centre tells me that it is happening on a wide range of servers and they can't solve it right now. They are contacting cpanel about it.

    My experience is that it is only happening with WordPress sites using the http://123.456.789.000/~user URL.

    Oddly if I go to http://123.456.789.000/~user/robots.txt it works
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The "Not Supported" message will occur when using the "CGI" handler with Apache Mod_Userdir. You will need to use another handler (e.g. suphp) if you want to utilize Apache Mod_Userdir. Documentation on selecting PHP handlers with EasyApache 4 is available at:

    Manage PHP Handlers in EasyApache 4 - EasyApache 4 - cPanel Documentation

    The following document provides more information on suPHP, including the recommended file permissions:

    PHP Handlers - EasyApache 4 - cPanel Documentation

    Let us know the specific entry in /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log when you see the "500" error message on your website after updating the permissions to meet those requirements.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    So, if the production server runs PHP on cgi mode, it will never be able to show temporary URLs using the IP?
    Isn't there any workaround to it?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's correct. It's a change that stems from the following case implemented in cPanel version 58:

    [security] Fixed case SEC-142: Code execution as other user accounts through the PHP CGI handler.

    Long term, the plan is to replace Apache Mod_Userdir's "website preview" functionality with a more secure solution.

    Thank you.
     
  7. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Long term? How many time would long term be? Users need temporary URLs, specially when it comes to web designers using reseller packages.
    Should I open a Feature Request for this?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Kent Brockman,

    There's no time frame to provide at this time, as it's still in the early phases of discussion. Yes, please open a feature request and let us know the URL once it's approved. I'll make sure it's linked to the existing internal case.

    We've also added a new entry to the Apache FAQ document regarding this behavior:

    Apache FAQ - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page