The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

modify an account : best practice

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bignose, Aug 7, 2007.

  1. bignose

    bignose Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi

    Client is x.com , they have 2 parked domains a.com and b.com

    Both b.com and a.com have email addresses setup for them

    Client has sold x.com to another one of our clients, so We'd now like to setup x.com as it's own account but let a.com and b.com continue to run.

    I know that I could delete/recreate everything, but I'm wondering if there is a slicker way you folks could recommend.

    Thanks.
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    If I understand correctly, only X.com will have a user change but the parked a & b.com you want to keep running under the original owner?


    Thats the way I read your post. If that is correct, then you would need to unpark a and B and set one up, say a.com as a full cpanel account and park b.com on top of it.

    There would be no other way to do this as you are taking away the host that a and b are parked on top of.
     
  3. bignose

    bignose Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Your understanding is correct, and your explanation is as I have feared :)

    I get the complexities of it tho, having this automated would leave alot of room for error with BIND/mysql/mail and all that stuff.

    Thanks !
     
  4. nicklas

    nicklas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Isn't changing x.com domain name as domain for your hosting package in for example y.com a much simpler solution?

    Only thing then is to change the domain name in the hosting package, right?

    Cheers.

    Main >> Account Functions >> Modify an Account
     
    #4 nicklas, Aug 13, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2007
  5. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Well, the problem is X.com that has the parked domains was sold to someone else so the original owner will not be the same but the domain name will remain the same.

    The dilemma was the parked domains and the email and things associated with it. Although the mails can be changed to the appropriate location once they are setup again, this is still something he was asking to avoid.
     
  6. nicklas

    nicklas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I had this situation once before, but it is indeed a while ago, by changing the domain name for current account, the domains stay parked for as far as i remember, you can then create a new hosting package for domain x.com.

    Basicly domain y.com is just a helper to free your domain x.com.

    Cheers,
     
Loading...

Share This Page