The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modifying apache memory usage

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by twhiting9275, Oct 28, 2002.

  1. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Here's one for you
    I'm looking for a way to modify apache/http memory usage so that it DOESN'T allow so much to be used up.
    I'm not sure why, but the server I'm running is constantly (constantly) needing rebooting because of this and that problem, more often than not, load is entirely too high on the server (on this server, nobody can login at all, except for root and myself, so there's no excuse for the load to be at 20+).
    Going in and clicking on modify Apache memory usage sets apache memory to 194m which is entirely unacceptable. There's no reason Apache (or anything for that matter) should take up 194m for any reason.
    Is there a way to set the apache memory limit to an acceptable amount, say 100m or even 50? Perhaps this should be something that should be changed, so that the memory usage CAN be modified easily?
    I'm not complaining, just looking for an alternative here. Need to be able to control Apache memory better than having the system doing it for me in this case.
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You should be able to modify the limit yourself by editing the figure in your httpd.conf file.
     
  3. Djelibeybi

    Djelibeybi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have RlimitMEM and RLimitCPU in my httpd.conf and Apache seems to ignore it. :) I have mod_perl running (required) and my httpd processes have been known to increase to 500M+ (natually, this causes my server to run out of RAM and Swap and then die a horrible death, resurrection only possible through hard rebooting).

    I'd love any assistance in preventing Apache from overrunning the server and keeping mod_perl alive. BTW, mod_perl is running as a DSO, not statically linked.
     
  4. Shurik

    Shurik Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Have you any luck with this issue?
    Two of my servers have apache that is constantly growing.
    The thing is in the mod_perl module as I know. Recompiling this module as static would help (probably).

    But I don't want to risk :)
    Did anybody this?
     
  5. hormigo

    hormigo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    same problem here

    Please Nick check this problem
     
Loading...

Share This Page