The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modifying DNS Zone - "A Record" for a subdomain

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Seriom, Sep 20, 2006.

  1. Seriom

    Seriom Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a site that has about 20 subdomains on it, I want each subdomain to have a seperate IP

    i went into "edit dns zone"

    then found the www.subdomain and subdomain. A Records and changed the IP in there

    now I got to those subdomains and I get a "There is no website configured at this address."

    is that because it needs to propagate? or do I need to do more?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You'll also have to edit httpd.conf and change the VirtualHost container for each domain, then restart httpd.
     
  3. Seriom

    Seriom Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    can that be done through whm?
     
  4. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes and no... You can use a file editor that Chirpy offers on his site for free, which is excellent, but you still need to use SSH to install it.

    If you are not able to edit your files without needing help, I would highly recommend getting your service provider to adjust things or possibly hire someone. Things can break very easily.
     
  5. Seriom

    Seriom Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am going to have to read up a little more on this, sounds a little over my level

    I am ok with some ssh tasks, but nothing crazy

    I guess that is why I bought that apache book though...ha
     
Loading...

Share This Page