The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modifying the backup time

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by SecondSight, Nov 30, 2008.

  1. SecondSight

    SecondSight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello ! :)

    I would like to set up a daily backup on my server. I have just one account and it's an Invision Power Board.

    So I went in WHM and configured the backup. But I found no options to make it happen at a specific time : I would like the backup to be done at a time when there are very few members connected.

    Is this possible ?

    Thank you ! :)
     
  2. JamesCTotalWeb

    JamesCTotalWeb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just log into WHM scroll down to Add ons and look for Configure cPanel Cron there is where you set the time for cPanel backups.

    Hope this helps :)
     
  3. SecondSight

    SecondSight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well... I can't find it... Anyway I know what to search for. :)

    Thank you ! :)
     
  4. rrwh

    rrwh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ssh into the server and as root edit the crontab entry for cpbackup
     
  5. stdout

    stdout Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As previously mentioned, log into SSH as root and type 'crontab -e'.

    Inside crontab, you want to modify the default cpbackup line (01:00):
    For example, if you wanted to run it at 02:30 instead, the new value would be:
     
  6. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is not there because you have to enable it, go to
    WHM >> Main >> cPanel >> Manage Plugins

    Scroll down and check the box install and keep updated
    cronconfig

    Scroll down and click on save

    Refresh WHM and it will now be in the Addons Menu Section at the bottom.
     
  7. SecondSight

    SecondSight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you ! :)
     
  8. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You are welcome!
     
Loading...

Share This Page