Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

ModSecurity Problem

Discussion in 'Security' started by jortiz565, Jul 1, 2014.

  1. jortiz565

    jortiz565 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After recomplie apache with easyapache, the apache service don't go up. We tried to restart via it command line and we get the following error error:

    root@3 [~]# service httpd restart
    [Mon Jun 30 20:45:24.426540 2014] [so:warn] [pid 10213] AH01574: module reqtimeout_module is already loaded, skipping
    AH00526: Syntax error on line 37 of /usr/local/apache/conf/modsec2.conf:
    ModSecurity: No action id present within the rule


    We recomplie apache 2 more times but the error persist. Then open the modsec2.conf and remove these line to start up the apache:

    Code:
    SecAuditLog logs/modsec_audit.log
    SecDebugLog logs/modsec_debug_log
    SecDebugLogLevel 0
    SecDefaultAction "phase:2,deny,log,status:406"
    SecRule MULTIPART_STRICT_ERROR "!@eq 0" \
    "phase:2,t:none,log,deny,status:44,msg:'Multipart request body \
    failed strict validation: \
    PE %{REQBODY_PROCESSOR_ERROR}, \
    BQ %{MULTIPART_BOUNDARY_QUOTED}, \
    BW %{MULTIPART_BOUNDARY_WHITESPACE}, \
    DB %{MULTIPART_DATA_BEFORE}, \
    DA %{MULTIPART_DATA_AFTER}, \
    HF %{MULTIPART_HEADER_FOLDING}, \
    LF %{MULTIPART_LF_LINE}, \
    SM %{MULTIPART_MISSING_SEMICOLON}, \
    IQ %{MULTIPART_INVALID_QUOTING}, \
    IP %{MULTIPART_INVALID_PART}, \
    IH %{MULTIPART_INVALID_HEADER_FOLDING}, \
    FL %{MULTIPART_FILE_LIMIT_EXCEEDED}'"
    SecRule REMOTE_ADDR "^127.0.0.1$" nolog,allow,id:1234123455   <----- Line 37
    Include "/usr/local/apache/conf/modsec2.user.conf"
    </IfModule>


    I can't find which line cause the problem or what happen. To put the server online again we remove those lines and save the file. Then, we revert the change after apache go up. If we restart apache whit those line we will get the error again.

    Thanks for any advice!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    To update, per a support ticket, the primary issue here was the following error output:

    Code:
    AH01574: module reqtimeout_module is already loaded, skipping
    The entry for that module was found and removed in:

    Code:
    /usr/local/apache/conf/includes/pre_main_global.conf
    Apache now starts successfully.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jortiz565

    jortiz565 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Fixed!! Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice